PDA

View Full Version : [wubi] Wubi doesn't work....

PPM5895
September 20th, 2010, 09:46 PM
Hey everyone. It's my first time ever using Ubuntu and I'm using Wubi to install it.
Whenever I try to use Wubi, it gives me some error about no disk or something about parameters. The error opens in a window that's impossible to close so I have to log off/back on or reboot to make it go away.

I'm running Windows XP and I've isolated Wubi to its own folder.

Please help.

Thanks in advance. :)

wilee-nilee
September 20th, 2010, 10:10 PM
Could I interest you in a real dual boot, if you have tried out Ubuntu enough from a live cd to consider this.

PPM5895
September 20th, 2010, 10:12 PM
I haven't tried Ubuntu at all. I'm a noob. Dx
I'm going to try a live CD right now. There should be some way to actually install it and do a dual boot from there, right?

wilee-nilee
September 20th, 2010, 10:36 PM
I haven't tried Ubuntu at all. I'm a noob. Dx
I'm going to try a live CD right now. There should be some way to actually install it and do a dual boot from there, right?

Yah you can install but make sure you confer with us first on the resizing of any Windows partitions. The key here is that you can resize XP with gparted in the live cd, but you want to reboot XP to let it run a auto chkdsk if it does, and make sure it is okay before installing Ubuntu.

If your computer will boot a thumb use this program to load a thumb and it will be a better trying out atmosphere, only it wont save your work in it. There is no persistence file for saving information, it runs like a live cd.
http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/

PPM5895
September 20th, 2010, 10:48 PM
O-O
Um OK. I definitely want to keep XP and I have ~30GB left on the hard drive.

And Ubuntu is still 3 hours away from downloading... >___>

I plan on using a CD, because I don't have a 2gb flash drive anymore. :(

I'm more than a little worried that my hard drive will run out of space.

wilee-nilee
September 20th, 2010, 11:19 PM
O-O