PDA

View Full Version : Install of Ubuntu kills Windows XP Home

NickN002
September 14th, 2010, 02:51 PM
Hello,

I'm brand new to Ubuntu and I searched the forums for answer to this, but the solutions I tried haven't worked. I installed Ubuntu 10.0.4 Netbook Remix on my Toshiba NB205. I installed Linux so that I could have a dual boot machine. At the grub screen when I select the Windows XP Home partition, Windows starts and then immediately crashes and then returns to the BIOS start-up. From my reading of the forums, I think that my master boot record is messed up. I don't have a Windows XP home install CD since it came preloaded and it did not come with an external CDROM. I still have a bootable USB with Linux on it. Luckily the data (documents, etc.) are backed up to the cloud.

I tried starting using a Windows XP Professional CD (to try to repair the problems) but even that leads to the blue screen of death.

Thanks.
Nick

mastablasta
September 14th, 2010, 03:02 PM
how did you install dual boot? did you defragment the windows partition before resizing it?

you should be abel to get a recovery CD and then use it to reinstall the whole system and then to try again to install Ubuntu.

maybe there is a less messy version...

but basically grub replaces the windwows MBR and to my experience installing it dual boot is really smooth in winxp. as long as you follow all precautions: running chkdsk and then defragmenting the disk before resizing it.

Jazzy_Jeff
September 14th, 2010, 03:23 PM
You will probably have to start over. Make sure all your important things are backed up. You should be able to do a recovery for your Windows XP. Once that is done use Windows to shrink your XP partition.

tony.Young
September 14th, 2010, 03:36 PM
Hello,