PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to change windows 7 to Ubuntu Linux?

kaiLX
September 8th, 2010, 11:58 AM
Hello, im new here. FYI, my lappy is using windows 7. after searching, looking and reading about Ubuntu linux im going to be interested with it. So, can someone tell me how to change my windows 7 to linux? Is it using money or free? Help me pls.

dv3500ea
September 8th, 2010, 12:20 PM
It is free. Follow the instructions here (http://www.ubuntu.com/desktop/get-ubuntu/download). You will need to download a CD image (.iso file) and burn it to a CD/DVD or create a USB installer.

kaiLX
September 8th, 2010, 12:25 PM
Ouu . Thanx . Did i need dual part?

romar_31
September 8th, 2010, 12:27 PM
Ouu . Thanx . Did i need dual part?

do you mean dual boot? It depends on you. :)

kaiLX
September 8th, 2010, 12:31 PM
yah. *Dual-Boot . Im new to use Ubuntu. LOL. so how can i cr8 dual boot? can u help me?

thegod_slayer
September 8th, 2010, 12:44 PM
select the specify partitions manually option.
defrage a drive to combine all the free spaces together.
now just add the swap space( double the size of your ram).
then specify 2 or 3 gb to / partition
and if any space is left make it to a fat32 drive.
then just sit back and let it install

coffeecat
September 8th, 2010, 01:06 PM
There are two main ways of doing it.

1 Create a dual-boot with Ubuntu on its own partition. Have a look here:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/GraphicalInstall

If you do this, it may be better to shrink the Windows 7 C: partition with the Windows 7 utility.

2 Wubi

This is a way of running Ubuntu within your Windows C: partition, so that you don't have to re-partition your hard drive. It will run a little slower and has a few drawbacks, but it's a good way of getting a taste of Ubuntu before committing yourself. See here:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Wubi

Mark Phelps
September 8th, 2010, 01:38 PM