PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Advantech DAQ PCI card

patrick@vialis
September 8th, 2010, 11:51 AM
Hi guys,

I'm new to the wonderfull world of Linux and I'm wondering if someone can help me with the following. I have an Advantech PCI-1730 I/O card. The Linux drivers from Advantech are very old and they don't want to deliver new ones for Ubuntu. They suggest I compile the drivers myself with the source.
I succeeded to compile everything with a few minor tweaks and installed it. The drivers are loaded but for some reason it doesn't sees the I/O card. With the utility advdevice_list it should show all installed cards but it returns an error.

Is there someone who has experience with these I/O cards/drivers or has suggestions what I can do next?

Are there big changes in the kernel drivers of Ubuntu 10.04 LTS compared to the older distributions?

This is what Advantech supports:
Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4 2.6.9-5-EL gcc-3.4.3-9.EL4 glibc-2.3.4-2 binutils-2.15.92.0.2-10.EL4
Fedora Core 6 2.6.18-1.2798.fc6 gcc-4.1.1-30glibc-2.5-3binutils-2.17.50.0.3-6
Debian 4.0 2.6.18-4-686 gcc-4.1.1-15 glibc-2.7 binutils-2.18.1
Red Hat Linux 9 2.4.20-8 gcc-3.2.2-5 glibc-2.3.2-11.9 binutils-2.13.90.0.18-9

Many thanks.
Patrick

Fafler
September 8th, 2010, 02:04 PM
Try giving us the output from lspci and if possible post a highres picture of the card or atleast the name of the chip.

I think theres a standard for such cards and i might be supported by adding vendor and device IDs to the right file.

patrick@vialis
September 15th, 2010, 04:11 PM
Hi Fafler, thanks for ur reply. There is only one major chip on it from Lattice MachXO with type number LCMXO1200C.

The output from lspci is:
03:05.0 Class ff00: Advantech Co. Ltd Device 1730 (rev 10)

Is this helpfull?

Many thanks.

Regards,
Patrick

Fafler
September 15th, 2010, 09:52 PM
I can't find anything but the official driver.