PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] how to completely wipe out pc

mslina
September 5th, 2010, 02:07 PM
How to completely wipe out pc because i have viruses that i cant get rid of through safe mode and its time to start fresh and clean.
So I decided I want to do a dual boot with windows and ubuntu...problem im facing is i dont have the windows installation cd....is there another way to install windows after wiping everything out? meaning does ubuntu take that much space in case i would definitely need the cds. though i have the copy 10.04 LTS Live CD to install Ubuntu now.

Thanks for any help if you can Im new to ubuntu! :KS

halitech
September 5th, 2010, 02:16 PM
if you don't have a windows install cd then you will not be able to wipe the system and reinstall windows. if you have a windows install key there are places you can get the ISO file from and use your key. if you don't have a key ...

I've installxubuntu on as little as 2 gigs but it had just the bare bones needed to work and have a gui

Mr_VeRiTy
September 5th, 2010, 02:22 PM
Did you try reverting windows back to a windows restore point? doing that *should* make your computer go back to a time when it did not have viruses, then when your viruses are gone, install Ubuntu, which doesn't use as much space as windows, and will be faster. Just google "how to do a windows xp restore" Replace "xp" with whatever version of windows you are using if it ain't xp. Hope that helps.

The Cog
September 5th, 2010, 02:23 PM
As far as I know, there is no way to reinstall windows onto a blanked drive without the installer CD.

Ubuntu needs about 10G of space (5G if you don't install too many extra apps), plus space for user files of course.