PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Compositing problems with Docky, no window headers?



binarylife
September 4th, 2010, 11:58 PM
When I logged in, none of my windows had tops (i.e. Window Title, Buttons for minimize, maximize, and close).

Also docky give an error msg : Docky requries Composting to work probably. And I should click on compiz fusion icon and select compiz window manager every time I boot up.

So how can I fix it please??

stinkeye
September 5th, 2010, 04:21 AM
Two settings to check.

# gconf-editor /desktop/gnome/session/required_components/windowmanager compiz



# ccsm > Effects > window decoration > command
gtk-window-decorator --replace

binarylife
September 5th, 2010, 08:57 AM
Two settings to check.

# gconf-editor /desktop/gnome/session/required_components/windowmanager compiz

# ccsm > Effects > window decoration > command
gtk-window-decorator --replace


When I checked the first command , windowsmanager value is metacity.
how can I change it ?

For the second command It gives me : gtk-window-decorator --replace
It is the same i thinks.

Thanks dude: )

stinkeye
September 5th, 2010, 09:43 AM
When I checked the first command , windowsmanager value is metacity.
how can I change it ?

For the second command It gives me : gtk-window-decorator --replace
It is the same i thinks.

Thanks dude: )

Just double click in the value field for window manager and type in

compiz
Compiz should load at start.

binarylife
September 5th, 2010, 10:57 AM
Just double click in the value field for window manager and type in

compiz
Compiz should load at start.

Thanks It works now , but It took so long to open everything including Google gadgets and panels and docky ? (Is it because I've upgraded Ubuntu 10.04 to 10.10 beta)??Thanks Anyway

stinkeye
September 5th, 2010, 11:11 AM
Thanks It works now , but It took so long to open everything including Google gadgets and panels and docky ? (Is it because I've upgraded Ubuntu 10.04 to 10.10 beta)??Thanks Anyway
Don't really know.


But if your starting fusion-icon in startup applications use

fusion-icon -n as the startup command.
The -n tells it not to load a window manager as compiz is loaded anyway.
May help, may not.

binarylife
September 5th, 2010, 11:31 AM
Don't really know.


But if your starting fusion-icon in startup applications use

fusion-icon -n as the startup command.
The -n tells it not to load a window manager as compiz is loaded anyway.
May help, may not.

Okay Thanks ,I appreciate your help.