PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 10.4: Lan Networking gone - How do I start from scratch?

bowsprit
September 2nd, 2010, 06:00 PM
Pretty much a noob here, but I've tried google "fixes" for two weeks and nothing works, and I'm not sure what I've messed up in the process, so I really want advice on how to start from scratch (networking only -- I don't want to have to reinstall the whole OS).

At some point after upgrading to 10.4, and buying a new ASUS RT-N12 router, my Linux box has effectively disappeared from my home network. I connect through the router to the internet fine, but none of my old Samba shares, or even my Linux box, show up on my windows machines "my network places", and double clicking "Windows Network" in Nautilus "network:///" gives an error: Unable to mount location/ Failed to retrieve share list from server.

Using ethernet (not wireless) for this box.

I suspect there may be a problem with my mounting system as well since this happened around the same time I lost a hard drive, and started plugging in a Kindle which seems to throw things out of whack (I have 12 directories in my /media directory named "Kindle"). But I don't know how the two could be related.

I can ping the WinXP machines on my network both by name and IP. I can ping my linux box's ip from the windows machine, but not by name ("u64").

So before I paste all sorts of output from all sorts of diagnostics -- which I'm more than happy to do -- what's the best way to get to square one, where my box shows up on the network and I can see the other Win-XP boxes?

Any help much appreciated.

sikander3786
September 2nd, 2010, 07:09 PM
Hi.

First of all, are you able to ping from one box to another?

bowsprit
September 2nd, 2010, 07:10 PM
Kind of:

I can ping the WinXP machines on my network both by name and IP. I can ping my linux box's ip from the windows machine, but not by name ("u64").

sikander3786
September 2nd, 2010, 07:19 PM