PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] "Basic" but flexible graphics viewer - IrfanView / MS Office Picture Manager

psadza
September 1st, 2010, 08:40 PM
I am new to Ubuntu. Overall, I really like it. However, I am having trouble finding a replacement for Windows IrfanView and MS Office Picture Manager. The idea is to simply browse, delete, resize, and rotate photos. F-Spot does OK in the editing, but I cannot delete photos as I browse through them. Also, I cannot seem to be able to find info on a viewer that will allow me to resize a group of selected photos similar to what can be done in MS Office Picture Manager (part of MS Office 2003). GIMP is great for one photo at a time...unless I am missing some of its batch functionality.

Any advice is appreciated. I mainly need a flexible tool for quickly going through photo collections, deleting, resizing, rotating, and perhaps some meta data editing (for categorizing / tagging photos).

Zimmer
September 1st, 2010, 08:53 PM
Not familiar with MS Office Picture Manager but I have used GIMP batch processing to resize groups of photos (about 2 years ago, mind) .
I have used GIMP for over 7 years now but have recently turned to GThumb image viewer for the simple resizing / rotating /cropping tasks as it is less complicated and quicker than GIMP. Give Gthumb a try..
Not sure if it would batch process though (will investigate possibilities later ) :)

Zimmer
September 1st, 2010, 09:19 PM
Ok, so gThumb can operate a batch mode...for:
Rotate Images
Scale Images
Convert image format

Tried on 4 of jpegs... scaling and converting to .png . I wondered why the screen went dark each time it did a fresh image... the enormous file sizes of the png files produced were over 40meg each...
But it did work !!!

EDIT: Just a tip, try Geeqie, if only for the ability to do thumbnail maintenance - deleting all the orphaned thumbnails clogging your disk space... (it is a fork of GQview)

psadza
September 1st, 2010, 10:50 PM