PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ATI FireGL v7200

vaina
September 1st, 2010, 09:45 AM
Hi everybody.
I had an NVIDIA Quadro FX 550 on my little workstation (DELL Precision 490) and I had some (graphic?) problems with my software at work. I also installed NVIDIA proprietary drivers (nvidia-current) but troubles still remained. Then I changed the graphic card and installed an ATI FireGL 7200 and Jockey (on Ubuntu 10.04) seems to not be able to find proprietary drivers. So I just downloaded xserver-xorg-video-radeonhd package, but I still have problems. If I check with glxinfo I obtain:

name of display: :0.0
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Error: couldn't find RGB GLX visual or fbconfig

3 GLXFBConfigs:
visual x bf lv rg d st colorbuffer ax dp st accumbuffer ms cav
id dep cl sp sz l ci b ro r g b a bf th cl r g b a ns b eat
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Segmentation faultI also don't find a clear procedure (I'm a newbie) for a manual installation of ATI drivers, can anyone help me?

dino99
September 1st, 2010, 10:18 AM
as actual kernel deal directly with X, there is often trouble when installing the driver from nvidia/ati, so better to install the package from synaptic.

first remove xorg.conf:

sudo rm -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf

then add this ppa to your synaptic repo tab:

https://launchpad.net/~ubuntu-x-swat/+archive/x-updates

and remove/purge (right click) all the nvidia/ati packages installed

update and upgrade, the system will install the necessary packages

reboot and check driver activation: system admin hardware driver

vaina
September 1st, 2010, 10:47 AM
Thanks for your suggestions. I followed your instructions: removed xorg.conf, added the PPA, definitively removed all ATI/NVIDIA packages by the package manager, updated and upgraded the system. But Jockey still doesn't find any proprietary driver for ATI in the system or internet. Did I make a wrong step?

Mark Phelps
September 2nd, 2010, 04:24 PM