PDA

View Full Version : RTL818L on 10.04, connection stalls out

SpkrBox850
August 31st, 2010, 12:41 AM
I've been using Ubuntu for a few years and this is the first problem I haven't been able to figure out though the forums or troubleshooting. There is more than a few threads about this topic but I can't get anything to work.
I am trying to use an 'ALFA Network AWUS036H' (RTL8187L) on Ubuntu with an HP Mini 110 dual booted with Win7 up front and 10.04 second.

I plug in the wifi card and Ubuntu automatically recognizes it, a bunch of networks are available, and I am able to connect to them. I can go online and load a page for about 5 seconds but then nothing. There's no 'webpage is not available' or 'check your connection' messages, the loading bar just stops in its tracks.
I'm still connected to the AP and all the other ones are still available, if I disconnect and reconnect, it works for another 5 seconds, again and again...

The RTL8187L adapter works fine in Win7, BackTrack4, and OsX.
Internet works great on 10.04 from ethernet, an external RT73 wifi card, and the internal broadcom wireless (with bcm43 proprietary driver).

I can only assume its the driver but at this point I really have no idea whats going on. I've tried just about every possible solution I could find online. Any help would be much appreciated, Thanks.

Gizim
September 1st, 2010, 03:00 AM
I've been using Ubuntu for a few years and this is the first problem I haven't been able to figure out though the forums or troubleshooting. There is more than a few threads about this topic but I can't get anything to work.
I am trying to use an 'ALFA Network AWUS036H' (RTL8187L) on Ubuntu with an HP Mini 110 dual booted with Win7 up front and 10.04 second.