PDA

View Full Version : How long before you found developer job?

Thieflock
August 25th, 2010, 02:46 PM
I'm going to make the assumption that there is a large amount on developers browsing this forum.

I'm a recent Compute Science graduate, having received my BS this summer. I've been looking for a job, but everyone wants people with industry experience. I only have college and a 1 month internship experience.

I'd like to get some tips, advice or personal stories of getting a developers job.

I've also included my resume, and was hoping to get a little feedback on it. Maybe there is a technology I should learn that isn't present on it.

Thanks

================================================== =======================

Objective

Seeking a career as a software engineer.

I'm a recent graduate of Fitchburg State University. Having just completed an internship to earn my diploma, I'm ready to enter the software engineering industry. I don't see writing code as just a job, but something I also enjoy doing in my spare time. My recent internship has given me a solid foundation with the different aspects of software development.
During my internship, I was tasked with adding features to a bat call annotation program. Most notably, the feature I added auto-annotated bat calls. This largely reduced the amount of work on the users side. Other rewarding projects I have done throughout my academic career are Dijkstra's Shortest Path algorithm, the Manhattan Tourist algorithm, and designing and coding my own game.

Education

Fitchburg State University (2007 - 2010)
Computer Science, B.S.
ABET accreditation for Computer Science and Information Systems

Mount Wachusett Community College (2006 – 2007)
Liberal Arts

Skills

Languages: Python, C, C++, Java, MATLAB, and Ruby

Database Language: MySQL

Platforms: multiple Linux distributions, Mac OS X, and Windows XP / 7