PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] extending the file system partition?

=ChAoS=
August 25th, 2010, 02:45 AM
Hi, I'm still pretty new to servers and ubuntu and have ran into something i could see being a problem in the future. On a dedicated remote server I have installed a web server using the "How To Forge - Perfect server set up for ubuntu 10.04 and ispconfig". I have a forum and email up and running and shoutcast radio and teamspeak3 servers also. We can also nx into it if need be.

I can reformat the 1T hdd remotely from my provider control panel and ssh is installed at the same time and a new root password is sent via email. the thing is i now realise that by default the file system is written to a 10gig partition. This might usually be ok but ispconfig uses the /var/www folder on the file system to house the forum i host and the partition is filling up.

My mate i co rent with is talking about starting a parrot/bird owners forum and i might eventually like to have a gaming forum as well. I realise i should probably have set things up differently but like i said im new at all this and tbh the home directorys never going to have much in it so theres 900 gig doing nothing.

So my question is can i use anything to enlarge that partition remotely? I know theres gparted on disc and all the articles i found say i need to use a disc which obvously is out of the question so what i think i need is some sort of partition magic for ubuntu. I would really like to expand it so all my current files etc on it would stay as is.

Could someone please tell me if this is possible?

I'm also currently looking into back up methods and wondered if that would be the way to go? Back up my file system and home directories and then reformat and make the partition larger?

Or could i copy the entire www folder to a newly created folder in /home and re write the site enabled files to point to it? Would this work and if so what else would i need to edit?