PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Showing over 4 GB of ram on 32-bit? That can't be right...



Keir Azuma
August 23rd, 2010, 03:24 AM
During a reinstall I accidentally reinstalled my 32bit version of Ubuntu on my desktop which has 8GB of ram. When I look at my System Monitor, its shows all 8GB. This confuses me, as I thought 32bit systems only support around 4 GBs.

Can anyone explain this?

Link: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1258410/Screenshot-System%20Monitor.png

sandyd
August 23rd, 2010, 03:26 AM
During a reinstall I accidentally reinstalled my 32bit version of Ubuntu on my desktop which has 8GB of ram. When I look at my System Monitor, its shows all 8GB. This confuses me, as I thought 32bit systems only support around 4 GBs.

Can anyone explain this?

Link: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1258410/Screenshot-System%20Monitor.png
yeah, I can. your using the PAE kernel.

Keir Azuma
August 23rd, 2010, 03:30 AM
Ah, that would explain it. Should I stick with the 32bit or correct my mistake and reinstall the 64bit?

Zzl1xndd
August 23rd, 2010, 03:34 AM
I would just stick with the 32 for now.

Keir Azuma
August 23rd, 2010, 03:36 AM
Sounds good to me. Thanks guys.

cascade9
August 25th, 2010, 01:41 AM
Almost everything that will benefit from 8GB of RAM will also benefit from 64bit.

I'd change to 64bit myself, for that reason, and because if your computer is capable of 64bit, why not use it?

phillw
August 25th, 2010, 02:09 AM
Almost everything that will benefit from 8GB of RAM will also benefit from 64bit.

I'd change to 64bit myself, for that reason, and because if your computer is capable of 64bit, why not use it?

Read above ;) Unless you need a programme that runs only in 64 Bit mode, using the 32 Bit kernel with PAE should not give you any large speed difference; put along with negating any issues with incompatibility. It is why they spent the time developing PAE.

Regards,

Phill.

cascade9
August 30th, 2010, 05:41 PM
Read above ;) Unless you need a programme that runs only in 64 Bit mode, using the 32 Bit kernel with PAE should not give you any large speed difference; put along with negating any issues with incompatibility. It is why they spent the time developing PAE.

PAE might be able to use more RAM than normal 32bit, but if you are doing any hard number crunching, PAE gets left in the dust-

http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=article&item=ubuntu_32_pae&num=1

philinux
August 30th, 2010, 05:57 PM
During a reinstall I accidentally reinstalled my 32bit version of Ubuntu on my desktop which has 8GB of ram. When I look at my System Monitor, its shows all 8GB. This confuses me, as I thought 32bit systems only support around 4 GBs.

Can anyone explain this?

Link: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1258410/Screenshot-System%20Monitor.png

32-bit-vs-64-bit-benchmarks (http://www.tuxradar.com/content/ubuntu-904-32-bit-vs-64-bit-benchmarks)

jerome1232
August 30th, 2010, 06:02 PM
And the can of worms has been opened. To each his own but....

My opinion is,


64 bit! The issues that still exist with 64 bit are few and far between. Plus hard number crunching is flat out faster under 64 bit, I don't think the average user realizes how much encode/decoding, compression/decompression, or sometimes even encryption/decryption is done during our normal day to day tasks.

QIII
August 30th, 2010, 06:55 PM
Does anyone remember the question "Why should I switch to 32 bit?"