PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Older version of GIMP required

hatrack
August 22nd, 2010, 06:53 PM
Hi All !

I have been running Linux (Hardy) for the past two years and during all of that time, I have found it to be excellent and stable. Foolishly, however, I accepted the suggestion from the Repos to up-grade to Ver 10.04 ... and that is where all my problems have arisen. Every attempt to install, either from a commercially-available DVD, or from an ISO image made from a down-load from Canoniacal has failed at the very last stage with the error message "Irrevocable Error !" ... which doesn't help the diagnosis of the problem one little bit !

I am totally exasperated with this Distro after more than three very long days spent working on the problem and I have therefore decided to go back to Hardy. I have installed this from a commercially-produced DVD without any difficulty whatsoever but I have now encountered a further problem in getting a copy of GIMP for my photo-processing.

The latest version available in Synaptic is 2.4.5-1 , which I know is full of bugs. For the past year ... I have been using Ver 2.6.6., with total satisfaction. However, I have searched but cannot find this Ver (which I know works with Hardy and is totally suitable for my needs).

Can anyone on this Forum kindly advise me where I can get the older version of GIMP (2.6.6.) ?

Best regards to all ...

marshmallow1304
August 22nd, 2010, 07:05 PM
Did you try a fresh install rather than an upgrade?

In any case, you can get GIMP 2.6.6 here:
http://packages.ubuntu.com/jaunty/gimp
though you may need to also download some newer versions of its dependencies if those are not available in Hardy.

hatrack
August 22nd, 2010, 07:59 PM
Thank you Marshmallow !

In answer to your question, all of my installations were complete ... wiping out the old Op Sys and installing to the whole of the disc.