PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] New to this

broonzyfan
August 21st, 2010, 11:18 PM
Absolute beginner to Ubuntu - & find it opens with a DOS screen wanting username and password. enter those and still on a DOS screen. I am sure that is not how it is supposed to be but find it the same whether on the 8.04 thta I have installed or the 10.0 when run from CD.
Anyone tell me where I am going wrong here. Should add it is on an older Sony Viao with 256meg ram and it is the only O/S system installed on it. Hard drive formatted before installation.
I have just a basic knowlege of computers, but over a long time( as I remember DOS when everything was done out of it !! Long forgotten now.
I want to get properly into this system but a disappointing start.

All help welcome.

J V
August 21st, 2010, 11:22 PM
Download 10.04, checksum it, and install it, use the installation procedure to create the partitions.

If this still won't work, set the boot flag VGA=771 (More info on google)

Edit: I see you are using lubuntu, why don't you try crunchbang if lubuntu isn't working...

The Thunder Chimp
August 21st, 2010, 11:25 PM
Absolute beginner to Ubuntu - & find it opens with a DOS screen wanting username and password. enter those and still on a DOS screen. I am sure that is not how it is supposed to be but find it the same whether on the 8.04 thta I have installed or the 10.0 when run from CD.
Anyone tell me where I am going wrong here. Should add it is on an older Sony Viao with 256meg ram and it is the only O/S system installed on it. Hard drive formatted before installation.
I have just a basic knowlege of computers, but over a long time( as I remember DOS when everything was done out of it !! Long forgotten now.
I want to get properly into this system but a disappointing start.

All help welcome.