PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Where do files go once you install them ?

AfrikaDietmar
August 17th, 2010, 08:02 AM
Its another novice question of me, please don't beat if its really stupid what i am asking - but i really have always been wondering where files go, once you install them in case you want to get rid of them afterwards...

I have been using ubuntu for a few months now, did a lot of installs, uninstalls, and figured out its always best to use the software centre but still there are programs that you cannot get or install from the software centre.

So i use commands mentioned on websites to install their packed programs.
It looks like that it usually creates a hidden file in my home folder.
I won't find those programs on my computer with the synaptic manager.

If i just delete that hidden folder, would it then mean the program is gone ? And i would have to simply remove its associated link that i created on the desktop tab ?
Do packed programs all write their files structured in the same places, so i would only need to look in those places and remove them there ? Is there a list or technique for this ? Or a search method ? How do you guys uninstall programs ?

earthpigg
August 17th, 2010, 08:20 AM
If i just delete that hidden folder, would it then mean the program is gone ?

no, it will mean the settings for that program are gone. software center does not do this by default because those hidden files (also called 'dotfiles') take up such a microscopic amount of space. and, since they are kept by default, the settings will be there waiting if you decide to reinstall the software.

if you want to restore some program to it's default settings, deleting it's dotfiles and dotfolders will do that for you. anything in your home folder, you can delete and rename and do whatever you want to do with it all day long... it may break that particular software for you, but the system will still boot and other users will be completely unaffected.