PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Permissions problem

adam_himself
August 17th, 2010, 12:21 AM
So, I solved my network issue and I was finally able to move some files for back up reasons from my Macbook to my uBuntu machine. Well, now I am not able to delete files from the folder on my uBuntu machine because I do not have permissions!

I created a folder on my desktop called "macbook_backup" and moved all kinds of images and such. I was able to delete the images, but I had a problem moving and deleting the folder "home movies" I moved into the macbook_backup. I checked the properties on it and it says owner is "nobody" and unknown for the most part. I can't move it to trash or anything and it says something like "you are not the owner of this file and as such you may not delete it." What the hell? I thought I had admin access on here. This is the only profile I have and it says I am an admin.

So what now?

Zilioum
August 17th, 2010, 12:44 AM
Have you tried deleting it with sudo (root access)?
Navigate to the file you want to delete with the terminal and type:
sudo rm "name_of_file_to_be_deleted"
"rm" is the command to delete files.
Before anything is deleted, you will be asked for your admin password.

arpanaut
August 17th, 2010, 12:45 AM
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RootSudo

L2U2K2E
August 17th, 2010, 02:31 AM
you can use that delete command or a graphic solution is to run nautilus as a root. This can solve most permissions issues you will run into.

sudo nautilus

pythonscript
August 17th, 2010, 02:34 AM
you can use that delete command or a graphic solution is to run nautilus as a root. This can solve most permissions issues you will run into.

sudo nautilus

For security reasons, I highly recommend that you use

gksu nautilus instead of sudo.

That's the preferred way to run any graphical application with root privileges.

Also, to change the ownership of a file, try this:

sudo chown username filename. For example, I could run this command on my machine: