PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problems connecting to home wireless network

PianoMan256
August 14th, 2010, 03:40 PM
Hi all,

My problems started when I inadvertently "autoremoved" a bunch of apparently vital packages when I ran an "aptitude" command. The next time I booted up my laptop, it started the splash screen for a few moments, then went blank, then hung. I was able to sidestep the boot and get into the recovery menu, where, to my delight, I saw an option reading "dpkg ... Repair broken packages", but, unfortunately, around this time, the home network was having problems of its own, so I was left GUI-less and internet-less. When the home network problem was sorted out, I tried it again, but it wouldn't connect. As 'root', I started giving myself a crash course in network-relate command line tools, but I'm a complete beginner when it comes to networks, and I couldn't make any headway.

Then, one morning, BAM! ifconfig, iwconfig, etc, suddenly did what they were supposed to, and I had internet again. I repaired the broken packages, but it didn't change the fact that it still hangs on startup. And after another reboot, I DIDN'T have internet again! I tried to retrace my steps, and reproduce my lucky fluke, but I seemed to be back at square one. I thought maybe I was doing the commands out of sequence, but nothing I try seems to work.

Here is the output of various commands: hopefully they make more sense to someone than they have so far to me...

root@mylaptop:~# ifconfig wlan0
wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:21:63:6d:4d:4f
BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets: 0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets: 0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

root@mylaptop:~# iwlist wlan0 scan
wlan0 Scan completed :
Cell 01 - Address: XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX
Channel:11
Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)
Quality=70/70 Signal level=-3dBm
Encryption key:on
ESSID:"HOMENET"