PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New to SBS and need some general advice

E-call
August 12th, 2010, 07:30 AM
:pHey there folks

I'm pretty new to the IT field but I have 13+ years of experience building home pcs and small home networks. I am doing a job for a company (in China) and they are looking for a cost effective solution for their business. As of right now they are running roughly wired computers and about 4-5 wireless computers on an open network with no server whatsoever. Most of the users have free reign to the internet and because of this they have more or less destroyed their terminals with virus' and malware. I will be going through the process of converting these PC's to workstations for the next month give or take.

I am going to install a Small Business Server for the company and have decided to get Dell to build one for me and ship it.

This brings me to my problem. I cannot decide between choosing either Ubuntu Server Edition or Windows Small Business Server 2008 R2. I have been weighing the pro's and cons of both and I am pretty much stumped.

Basically I know setting up Win SBS 2k8 will be a much easier venture and get me the productivity I need in a short amount of time. But I am not so excited about the user cals to connect to the server. $800 us for the server software is not bad at all but since this is a not so large company based in China purchasing user cals for 35-45 machines is not so nice on the budget aspect. I know that SBS2k8 does not require the purchase of cals but I would like to know if I am losing out on any sort of functionality. Is SBS2k8 the route to go here?