PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Realtek ALC272. Empathy kills microphone



uaaquarius
August 8th, 2010, 11:51 PM
Hi,

I'm running Ubuntu 10.04 (i686) on Acer Aspire 5551G. This laptop has Realtek ALC272 sound chip. Both sound and microphone work fine. But, when I start video/audio call in Empathy the microphone dies until I reboot the laptop (sound continues to work). The same happens with Pidgin and Ekiga. So, I can't make video/audio calls.

Any ideas? :)

I believe this is pulse/alsa bug.

Thanks in advance

simosx
August 9th, 2010, 10:18 AM
Hi,

I'm running Ubuntu 10.04 (i686) on Acer Aspire 5551G. This laptop has Realtek ALC272 sound chip. Both sound and microphone work fine. But, when I start video/audio call in Empathy the microphone dies until I reboot the laptop (sound continues to work). The same happens with Pidgin and Ekiga. So, I can't make video/audio calls.

Any ideas? :)

I believe this is pulse/alsa bug.

Thanks in advance

It sounds like a PulseAudio bug, which might be caused by issues with Alsa.
The workaround would be to restart PulseAudio to get the mic working.
Of course, this should not happen it is would be good to figure out who is at fault, so that we inform either Alsa or PulseAudio.

There is a tool to retrieve the full Alsa details, with alsa-info.sh.
To run alsa-info.sh,

wget www.alsa-project.org/alsa-info.sh -O alsa-info.sh && bash alsa-info.sh

You are prompted to send the details to the alsa-project.org website; select Yes and write down the URL you will be given. This URL has your soundcard information; reply here with this URL.

uaaquarius
August 9th, 2010, 04:03 PM
This URL has your soundcard information; reply here with this URL.

Hi, simosx!

Here is the URL:
http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=1672f44b944fa429fff596e54048907c77fc340c

simosx
August 9th, 2010, 04:23 PM
Hi, simosx!

Here is the URL:
http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=1672f44b944fa429fff596e54048907c77fc340c

Your Alsa settings look fine. You specify the Alsa model 'toshiba', probably following some instructions from other sources.

According to
http://www.mjmwired.net/kernel/Documentation/sound/alsa/HD-Audio-Models.txt#91
the ALC272 does not have a 'toshiba' model.
Does sound work for you if you unset the model? Setting it to 'toshiba' might be an issue.

I think Ekiga does not support Pulseaudio yet and I am not sure about Pidgin.

What I would recommend (after fixing the 'toshiba') is to kill PulseAudio and run it again as

pulseaudio -vvvv

which will show lots of debugging information. Try to perform a recording with the sound recorder and observe the output.

Then, try out empathy. You can try with voice-only call, to eliminate any video interactions.

uaaquarius
August 9th, 2010, 11:43 PM
Hi, simosx!

Yes, "toshiba" was added by me when I tried to fix the microphone :)

OK, I commented it out and restarted pulseaudio. Not sure if I restarted it correctly, I used those commands:

gksu /etc/init.d/pulseaudio stop
gksu killall pulseaudio
gksu /etc/init.d/pulseaudio startThen I run

pulseaudio -vvvvwhich resulted in

I: main.c: setrlimit(RLIMIT_NICE, (31, 31)) failed: Operation not permitted
I: main.c: setrlimit(RLIMIT_RTPRIO, (9, 9)) failed: Operation not permitted
D: core-rtclock.c: Timer slack is set to 50 us.
D: core-util.c: RealtimeKit worked.
I: core-util.c: Successfully gained nice level -11.
I: main.c: This is PulseAudio 0.9.21-63-gd3efa-dirty
D: main.c: Compilation host: i486-pc-linux-gnu
D: main.c: Compilation CFLAGS: -g -O2 -g -Wall -O3 -Wall -W -Wextra -pipe -Wno-long-long -Winline -Wvla -Wno-overlength-strings -Wunsafe-loop-optimizations -Wundef -Wformat=2 -Wlogical-op -Wsign-compare -Wformat-security -Wmissing-include-dirs -Wformat-nonliteral -Wold-style-definition -Wpointer-arith -Winit-self -Wdeclaration-after-statement -Wfloat-equal -Wmissing-prototypes -Wstrict-prototypes -Wredundant-decls -Wmissing-declarations -Wmissing-noreturn -Wshadow -Wendif-labels -Wcast-align -Wstrict-aliasing=2 -Wwrite-strings -Wno-unused-parameter -ffast-math -Wp,-D_FORTIFY_SOURCE=2 -fno-common -fdiagnostics-show-option
D: main.c: Running on host: Linux i686 2.6.32-24-generic #39-Ubuntu SMP Wed Jul 28 06:07:29 UTC 2010
D: main.c: Found 2 CPUs.
I: main.c: Page size is 4096 bytes
D: main.c: Compiled with Valgrind support: no
D: main.c: Running in valgrind mode: no
D: main.c: Running in VM: no
D: main.c: Optimized build: yes
D: main.c: All asserts enabled.
I: main.c: Machine ID is 084cdccf7136c823047702a34c4b9a8e.
I: main.c: Session ID is 084cdccf7136c823047702a34c4b9a8e-1281390582.698301-1463995618.
I: main.c: Using runtime directory /home/batky/.pulse/084cdccf7136c823047702a34c4b9a8e-runtime.
I: main.c: Using state directory /home/batky/.pulse.
I: main.c: Using modules directory /usr/lib/pulse-0.9.21/modules.
I: main.c: Running in system mode: no
E: pid.c: Daemon already running.
E: main.c: pa_pid_file_create() failed.Then I tested Sound Recorder. It was it was working like a charm.
Then I tested audio call with Empathy. It was quite bad: a lot of clunking like "chuk-chuk" on another computer (also running Ubuntu), some disruption, in general it was very hard to understood. The sound from another computer was heard excellently on this Acer.
Then I tried video call with Empathy. Which killed the microphone again. It does not work (e.g. in Sound Recorder) until I reboot :(

Here is my updated result of alsa-info.sh:
http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=31743a8765b799bce5b1438c744b2e63c45e0ff3

Any ideas? :)
Thanks

lidex
August 10th, 2010, 04:24 AM
I would start with an alsa upgrade using the link in my sig. You'll probably still need to specify a model in alsa-base.conf, but it looks like a generic one. How many analog audio jacks are there? Digital? Number of sound channels supported?

uaaquarius
August 10th, 2010, 10:30 AM
Hi, lidex!

I'll try to upgrade after work. Then I'll also provide the number of jacks.

Number of sound channels supported?
How can I check this?

Thanks!

uaaquarius
August 12th, 2010, 08:42 PM
Checked the problem on clean installation of 10.10 alpha 3. The problem is still present. So, I've reported a bug (https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/empathy/+bug/617001).

uaaquarius
September 1st, 2010, 11:00 PM
This is definitely not a old-alsa problem. There is the latest alsa 1.0.23 present in 10.10-alpha-3, but the problem is still there. So, I believe upgrading alsa on 10.04 wont help.

lidex
September 2nd, 2010, 01:50 AM
How many audio jacks on the motherboard?

uaaquarius
September 2nd, 2010, 09:46 AM
How many audio jacks on the motherboard?

There are 2 analogue audio jacks: for microphone and for speakers.
There is aslo HDMI port from ATI 5470.

Another interesting point is that HD-Audio-Models.txt does not lists any Acer model for ALC272, so I tried "auto" but with no success.

lidex
September 2nd, 2010, 09:58 AM
Try 3stack-dig:

options snd-hda-intel model=3stack-dig
Reboot.

Also 3stack-6ch, 3stack-6ch-dig

uaaquarius
September 2nd, 2010, 09:29 PM
Try 3stack-dig:

options snd-hda-intel model=3stack-digReboot.

Also 3stack-6ch, 3stack-6ch-dig

Thanks for quick reply, lidex!

I've tried 3stack-dig, 3stack-6ch and 3stack-6ch-dig. Each provided the choice if input source: Mic and Front Mic. I've tried both of them for each model. But the problem is still present:


There is a "chucklink" during audio call, so the other person can hardly understand you;
Videocall kills the microphone.

Ubuntu developers confirmed this bug (https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/empathy/+bug/617001).

lidex
September 3rd, 2010, 04:24 AM
I'm thinking it may have something to do with the fact that snd-hda-intel is being used by both devices. Are you using hdmi and if not can it be disabled? What profile are you using in 'Sound Preferences'?

uaaquarius
September 4th, 2010, 10:35 PM
I'm thinking it may have something to do with the fact that snd-hda-intel is being used by both devices. Are you using hdmi and if not can it be disabled? What profile are you using in 'Sound Preferences'?

I don't use HDMI and I've tried disabling it. I've even tried to remove proprietary ATI driver, but with no success :)

Here are screenshots of my sound configuration:
http://xmages.net/storage/10/1/0/1/2/upload/b89c63b4.png (http://xmages.net/storage/10/1/0/1/2/upload/b89c63b4.png)

http://xmages.net/storage/10/1/0/6/9/upload/4ebf7f1b.png

uaaquarius
November 21st, 2010, 08:27 PM
I've managed to solve the problem with following workaround:


replace Empathy with Skype
delete pulseaudio (this removes some things like sound indicator)