PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] WINE not running setup.exe

corncob
August 8th, 2010, 08:29 PM
I've been using Print Shop Ensemble III since 1997, running it in WINE in Linux. However, on this fresh installation of 10.04 I just get this message when I try to open setup.exe with wine installer:

The file '/media/990502_0129/SETUP.EXE' is not marked as executable. If this was downloaded or copied form an untrusted source, it may be dangerous to run. For more details, read about the executable bit.
Its running on 10.04 on my other computer but I had installed it in 9.10 and then upgraded. I did download wine1.2-gecko this time and also playonlinux out of curiosity. I didn't try anything else as that's the only windows program I use anymore but I might do so to see what happens.

howefield
August 8th, 2010, 08:32 PM
Right click the file and select properties > permissions and ensure that mark as executable is checked off.

0004tom
August 8th, 2010, 08:32 PM
Right click the file and select properties > permissions and ensure that mark as executable is checked off.

bugger you beat me lol or you can do this in a terminal.

chmod +x /media/990502_0129/SETUP.EXE

wine /media/990502_0129/SETUP.EXE

you need to give it execute permissions..

corncob
August 8th, 2010, 09:18 PM
Thanks Guys, I meant to say I was trying to install it from a read only CD and it won't let me change permissions. A thought would be to copy it to a CD-RW but I don't have one. Anyway, here's what I got:

corncob@hp-laptop:~$ chmod +x /media/990502_0129/SETUP.EXE
chmod: changing permissions of `/media/990502_0129/SETUP.EXE': Read-only file system
corncob@hp-laptop:~$
corncob@hp-laptop:~$ wine /media/990502_0129/SETUP.EXE
wine: created the configuration directory '/home/corncob/.wine'
fixme:system:SetProcessDPIAware stub!
fixme:dwmapi:DwmIsCompositionEnabled 0x33cfd4
fixme:file:MoveFileWithProgressW MOVEFILE_WRITE_THROUGH unimplemented