PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] What do I need to watch these vids?

kingme23
August 6th, 2010, 09:41 PM
Im fairly new to linux. I know how it works but I am not familiar with all the "codecs" and such. What do I need to install to be able to watch videos on bing.com? I know you can click on the video, but if you hover over the videos in the search results it will play clips of the video....basically I am asking what I need to install to make the clips play when I hover over a video (I've already installed the audio and video codecs that were suggested to me). thanks.

Zeike
August 6th, 2010, 11:04 PM
If these videos are flash, you should be able to get them to work by installing the 'flashplugin-installer' package.

If these videos are silverlight, which I suspect they might be, because they're on bing, your best bet is to use the moonlight plugin. I think you can install this with the 'moonlight-plugin-core' and 'moonlight-plugin-mozilla' packages.

kingme23
August 7th, 2010, 02:15 AM
Hi, I already had flash installed and took your advice and installed moonlight. Unfortunately I still can't get the clips to work, thank you for your help though. Does anyone have a clue what I'm talking about?

ron999
August 7th, 2010, 02:22 AM
Does anyone have a clue what I'm talking about?

Post a link.

mc4man
August 7th, 2010, 02:32 AM
Does anyone have a clue what I'm talking about?

Yeah - the little video thumbnails

Just did a new install of maverick and other than building mplayer haven't done anything.
For that site installed the adobe flash player and they work fine - the only exception is some on main page upper right.
Other than that they all work w/ mouseover.

Are you 32 or 64 bit ? (32 bit install here

Ex. page
http://www.bing.com/videos/watch/video/ballgirl-makes-amazing-catch/1jrtgoncq

kingme23
August 7th, 2010, 02:56 AM
I am 64 bit.

Here's what I mean:

http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=adrian+peterson&go=&form=QBVR&qs=n&sk=&sc=8-15