PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] resizing hard drive

beew
August 2nd, 2010, 07:25 PM
Hi,

I have installed Ubuntu 10.04 on a 35 G hard drive with 15G for the ./ directory and 20G for ./home. The ./ partition is to the left (in front of ) the ./home partition. I am not experienced in this and many online tutorial I found recommend a 10 to 15 G for the ./ directory and a large ./home directory for data. But now I realize that I should have made a bigger partition for ./ instead because almost all my programs end up there instead of ./home and I don't really have that much data (unlike most normal people I don't care for junks like family photographs :pand I store my music and ebooks in an external drive. The data files I work with can't be more than 2 G at the moment and it may grow to no more than 6 to 8 G even by the most generous estimation)

So now I am thinking of expanding the ./ partition at the expense of ./home . I am wondering if it is possible to do that without losing my local settings (I don't really care for the little data that I have as I can easily move them somewhere else)

Thanks.

sandyd
August 2nd, 2010, 07:35 PM
Hi,

I have installed Ubuntu 10.04 on a 35 G hard drive with 15G for the ./ directory and 20G for ./home. The ./ partition is to the left (in front of ) the ./home partition. I am not experienced in this and many online tutorial I found recommend a 10 to 15 G for the ./ directory and a large ./home directory for data. But now I realize that I should have made a bigger partition for ./ instead because almost all my programs end up there instead of ./home and I don't really have that much data (unlike most normal people I don't care for junks like family photographs :pand I store my music and ebooks in an external drive. The data files I work with can't be more than 2 G at the moment and it may grow to no more than 6 to 8 G even by the most generous estimation)