PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Firefox 4 on ubuntu?

miniclip22
July 22nd, 2010, 04:33 AM
Hi all. I don't know if this is the correct spot to post his, but here it goes: I want to install Firefox 4, but when I download it it appears as a file tar.bz2... No executable file... I am a newbie to linux, so can someone create a firefox 4 package for me? Thanks!

Kellen0070
July 22nd, 2010, 05:20 AM
In Terminal
Unpack the package using:
mv firefox-4.0b1.tar.bz2 ~
tar -xjvf firefox-4.0b1.tar.bz2

then run the executable:

~/firefox/./firefox

That should work. I do not currently have linux installed on my computer but I have done this before with other versions of firefox.

lovinglinux
July 22nd, 2010, 05:30 AM
See Method #1 at the Installing Other Versions (http://firefox-tutorials.blogspot.com/2010/05/installing-other-versions.html) tutorial.

You can also use my extension FoxTester (http://foxtester-extension.blogspot.com), which make easy to install, test and uninstall multiple versions of Firefox.

mahmudinashar
July 22nd, 2010, 05:32 AM
wow, evetualy firefox 4 come to ubuntu, sip .

lovinglinux
July 22nd, 2010, 05:33 AM
wow, evetualy firefox 4 come to ubuntu, sip .

Only in the next version of Ubuntu.

miniclip22
July 22nd, 2010, 05:35 AM
I have unpacked, but cannot run the executable, "No Such File or Directory". Any ideas?

lovinglinux
July 22nd, 2010, 06:44 AM
I have unpacked, but cannot run the executable, "No Such File or Directory". Any ideas?

If your original tar.bz2 has source in the name, then you have the wrong file (those are for compiling). If not, then browse the extracted folder and double-click the firefox file inside it.

BTW, are you planning to use it as your main browser? Is too soon for that. Most extensions won't work yet.

miniclip22
July 24th, 2010, 05:36 AM