PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Getting remote frontend to remember the password?



GuiGuy
July 10th, 2010, 12:26 PM
I have a frontend running on a client PC (Lucid). Everytime I start it up I need to type in the mysql password. ie the displayed dbpassword is incorrect. Oddly the IP address and all other details are correct and persistent.

The password entered in /home/<user>/.mythtv/config.xml is correct.
The password entered in /etc/mythtv/config.xml is correct.
The password entered in /etc/mythtv/mysql.txt is correct.

What else needs to be checked/ configured?


T.I.A.

Cheers

ian dobson
July 10th, 2010, 02:06 PM
Hi,

Just check that all copies of mysql.txt and config.xml have the same/correct information.

To find where copies of the files are hiding use "updatedb" to rebuild the file list then "locate <FILENAME>" to list them.


Regards
Ian Dobson

GuiGuy
July 11th, 2010, 03:27 AM
To find where copies of the files are hiding use "updatedb" to rebuild the file list then "locate <FILENAME>" to list them.


Thanks Ian, but I had no luck with that. I'm now running a grep search for the incorrect password that's being thrown up. It may take a while... <sigh>

GuiGuy
July 11th, 2010, 04:10 AM
Found the problem.

It was between the back of my chair and the keyboard. :redface:

(Had entered two different passwords in the mysql.txt file :(