PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] After Upgrade, no boot

zaivala
July 5th, 2010, 07:43 AM
On Wednesday or Thursday, I did an upgrade, which included a new Linux kernel. As expected, I had to reboot after this.

Upon rebooting, the screen is mostly black, with about 1/6 of the screen in the upper left corner looking like a tiny version of Terminal -- although it is non-functional -- and nothing else happens.

Anyone have any ideas?

Update: This time, the Terminal was active, kinda, and I typed Exit. It then brought up my picture to choose user, asked for my password (this is supposed to be on Automatic), and then gave me the usual desktop background, no launchbar -- and still having the mini-Terminal in the upper left. Also, still no way to run programs except from Terminal, and I'm not good at that.

Oldieone56
July 5th, 2010, 03:25 PM
I've had a similar problem after installing 10.04 from the CD. Ubuntu 9.04 installed and booted without issue. 10.04 gets stuck in a boot attempt loop. All I can do is power down. I'm in the process of trying various 'fixes' found in the forums. Being new to Linux/Ubuntu it is a challenge.

hdtvman
July 5th, 2010, 05:09 PM
I just had this happen to me. I have a Windows Vista machine and I wanted to install 10.04 on a new disk, not on the same Vista boot disk. I'll use the bios boot options to select the boot OS.

Any way, after installing 10.04, I got the blank screen described above. I did a re-install on the new disk and this time I went to the advanced section of the disk install options and set the boot to appear new disk and everything worked this time.

So maybe that needs to be done in your case also. On the other hand it could be totally unrelated.

hdtvman

philinux
July 5th, 2010, 05:11 PM
On Wednesday or Thursday, I did an upgrade, which included a new Linux kernel. As expected, I had to reboot after this.