PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problems loading picasa

Alexd2010
July 4th, 2010, 07:59 AM
Hi,

I'm brand new to Ubuntu (10.04) & Linux in general and would really appreciate some help with installing Picasa.

I managed to download it OK (even though I was surprised by how tricky that was what's all this about repositories and keyrings? I had assumed Ubuntu would be simple and straightforward to use) but it wasn't showing anywhere I couldn't find it on my computer anywhere (HP mini). On reading the forums I became aware of the 'main menu' and located it there.

However, when I tried to tick the little box next to it to make appear in the applications menu, nothing happened. I found that when you tick other applications to make them appear in the menus, the text they are written in goes from italics to bold italics apparently signifying something like 'programme is on the computer but not in normal use' and bold indicating it will appear in menus.

Well, picasa would not go bold when I ticked the box and repeatedly failed to appear in any menus (other than main menu). So I can't find it anywhere on my machine and can't use it. It doesn't appear anywhere either in the ubuntu software centre so I can't download/install from there.

So, I tried removing it all together (using the package manager) and reinstalling the previously downloaded version located in the 'downloads' folder. When I try and do this a box appears telling me 'same version is available in a software channel' and 'you are recommended to install the software from the channel instead'.

But nowhere does it tell you where this 'software channel' may be found, or how to access it, and apparently in ubuntu language the word 'recommended' actually means 'forced' as you are given no option other than to use this 'software channel'.