PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Brasero says I don't have permission to...????

disastrophe
July 4th, 2010, 07:13 AM
Hi there. I just recently made a clean break with windoze and am currently using Ubuntu 10.04/2.6.32-23. I'm rather new to some of the error messages. I was burning an iso of xubuntu and I wanted to perform an integrity check. I loaded the disc and plugged the md5 hash into Brasero. After stammering for a bit it tells me:
"The file integrity check could not be performed. You do not have the required permissions to use this drive."
Huh? I just burned the silly thing and the disc was mounted. Maybe I'm taking the message too literally, it's a tad ambiguous. But I'm just a little confused. What would permissions have to do with a simple integrity check? Is this a bug or is it just it's little way of saying the disc didn't check out?
Is there a more robust application for performing these tasks? I would appreciate any advice. Thank you.

NUboon2Age
July 4th, 2010, 08:25 AM
It sounds like for some reason the drive has 'permissions' set not including your username (probably root). I'm not sure how to approach this, but if Brasero was having trouble one thing you might try is to start the program from a terminal with sudo. So like

sudo <programname>

This will ask for your authorization and then run as root so it should bypass any permissions issues.

One thing i don't know however is what the name of your program is when starting from the command line. I don't know if Brasero is called 'brasero' from the command line (sometimes programs have a different name that shows up in the GUI from what the CL name is). You'd need to know its name.

Secondly i know nothing about MD5 so if its something specific to that, I might be completely off base about all of this.

Good luck, and please report back what works.

disastrophe
July 4th, 2010, 03:34 PM