PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Screen problem



Mostafa Rastin
July 3rd, 2010, 06:31 AM
Hi,
I have been using Ubunut 8.04 Heron without any problem, later on i have upgraded the same computer to 9.10 KOla without any problem, last week I have upgraded the same computer to 10.04 Lucid, but I do not get full screen on my monitor, menu bars and panels are not accessible, only I can use Alt+Tab to open applications and my document files. I think there is some problem with my VGA configuration. I am not able to access system configuration to change the set up. Any body can help me?

larsenguitars
July 3rd, 2010, 12:31 PM
I had the same problem with an old obscure model of taiwanese plasma.
I used a crt monitor for installation then changed the display resolution before plugging into the plasma.
You could try booting onto a command-line via the grub-menu &

sudo nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
to edit the display resolution.
Add the following line in the "Screen" Section replacing any previous 'metamode' entries.

Option "metamodes" "1024x768_75 +0+0"
In that example 1024x768_75 means 1024x768 pixels at 75Hz.
Change the 75 to 85 if your monitor supports it.

Mostafa Rastin
July 5th, 2010, 02:53 AM
Thank you for reply.
My computer does not have a xorg.conf file at /etc/X11
How to generate a xorg.conf file?

SmokeyThePanda
July 5th, 2010, 08:28 AM
You can just create one and add the options, I believe.

As an alternative to the above strategy:

Search online for the vertical refresh, horizontal sync and maximum resolution for your monitor. After obtaining the information, open up your xorg.conf.


sudo nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf

You need to edit the following to fit your monitor. (Example is from my own xorg.conf)


Section "Device"
Identifier "Configured Video Device"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Generic Monitor"
HorizSync 30 - 60
VertRefresh 60 - 75
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "Configured Video Device"
Monitor "Generic Monitor"
DefaultDepth 16
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection

Simply add the values you searched up to fit your monitor. This should work to make your resolution bigger, therefore allowing you to see your panels. I hope it helps you. :)