PDA

View Full Version : [wubi] Compiz not working

uncle_frank
July 2nd, 2010, 10:38 PM
I hope this is the correct section. I have recently updated to 10.04 and now Compiz/desktop effects wont work. When I try to turn visual effects on I get a message saying they could not be enabled. I'm a bit new to all this so not sure if I'm doing something wrong.

I've looked at many threads regarding this problem and nothing they say has worked. iv tried using Hardware Drivers (in systems --> administration) but this says "no proprietary drivers are in use on this system".

Also I don't know whether this effects anything but when I open NVIDIA X Server Settings (in systems --> administration) i get a message saying "You do not appear to be using the NVIDIA X driver. Please edit your X configuration file (just run `nvidia-xconfig` as root), and restart the X server."

Does anyone know how I can get Compiz/desktop effects working? thanks.

yossell
July 2nd, 2010, 11:42 PM
I'm not sure, but it sounds as though you haven't got the right driver installed. I take it it's an nvidia card? When, from the panel, you choose system -> Administration -> Hardware drivers what shows up?

To answer another part of your question, I think when it says `run nvidia-xconfig as root' you can do this by typing

sudo nvidia-xconfig

into a terminal and then enter your password -

but I might be cautious about doing this until you know what you're doing!

uncle_frank
July 3rd, 2010, 10:03 AM
When i go system -> Administration -> Hardware drivers, the full window comes up but then theres nothing in any boxes and it just says "no proprietary drivers are in use on this system" at the very top.

I've tried "sudo nvidia-xconfig" and nothing happened and restarted X Server. although when I logged on this morning I got an error message about the configuration.

How do I find out if I have a NVIDIA card?

yossell
July 3rd, 2010, 12:00 PM