PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Theme customization (newbie question)

michaelmouf
July 2nd, 2010, 09:38 PM
Hello,
I have ubuntu lucid. I want to create a custom theme where the panels (only the panels) are from the Dust theme, and everything else is from the Ambiance theme.Anyone know how do I go around doing this? Sorry for the newbieness, but I'm completely new to both ubuntu and linux.

rcayea
July 2nd, 2010, 10:52 PM
Changing the Theme

When you are using your applications, the visual appearance of the buttons, scroll bars, widgets, and other bits and pieces are controlled by the Theme. The built-in theming system can make your applications look radically different, and Ubuntu ships a number of themes with it that you can try.
Choosing a New Theme

To choose a new theme click System > Preferences > Theme. Inside the dialog box that pops up are a number of themes that you can choose. Just click on a theme and the desktop will be adjusted automatically. You can further customize your theme by clicking the Theme Details button. A new dialog box appears that has tabs for the different parts of the theme you can configure. Click each tab and select an entry from the list to create your own perfect theme.
Installing New Themes

To install a new theme first head over to http://art.gnome.org/, and find a theme that you like. You need to look for Application Themes when browsing the site. When you find a theme that you like, download it to your computer. Now Click System > Preferences > Themes and click the Install Theme button. Using the file chooser, find the theme that you just downloaded and it will install automatically. Now select your new theme from the list.

I got this information from this link:
https://help.ubuntu.com/6.06/book/book/ubuntubook-ch3-html/UsingUbuntuontheDesktop.html

mcduck
July 2nd, 2010, 11:05 PM
Hello,