PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Rolling out Ubuntu to replace Windows

fatladiespart2
July 2nd, 2010, 02:21 PM
Hi

I'm a bit of a newbie with Ubuntu so still on a leaning curve. I've been tasked to rollout Ubuntu to replace our Windows boxes but am having a few difficulties. Any help provided would be greatly appreciated ;-)

1. I've created 1 Ubuntu box which I will be cloning (to all the same spec PC's). I have setup an admin account and installed programs that we are using at the moment. The problem I have is that when I setup a new user (i.e. the person who's going to use the PC), the programs are not shared. If you setup a new user on windows it shares all the installed programs. I am having to re-install the programs on the new user. Not a problem if you was only doing a couple of machines, 15 is a different story. Any advise?

2. I have an ATI dual screen card which is running on an ATI driver. Problem is that when you restart the PC, it hangs. If you set screensaver to some 3D one's, the PC doesn't come up with the login window. Do I use an open source driver instead of the ATI driver?

Thanks in advance

alphacrucis2
July 2nd, 2010, 02:45 PM
Hi

I'm a bit of a newbie with Ubuntu so still on a leaning curve. I've been tasked to rollout Ubuntu to replace our Windows boxes but am having a few difficulties. Any help provided would be greatly appreciated ;-)

1. I've created 1 Ubuntu box which I will be cloning (to all the same spec PC's). I have setup an admin account and installed programs that we are using at the moment. The problem I have is that when I setup a new user (i.e. the person who's going to use the PC), the programs are not shared. If you setup a new user on windows it shares all the installed programs. I am having to re-install the programs on the new user. Not a problem if you was only doing a couple of machines, 15 is a different story. Any advise?