PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Login Loop?

p22dude
June 25th, 2010, 09:02 PM
I just installed Xubuntu on an old Dell Inspiron Laptop. The laptops has a 1.7 ghz Pentium IV, and less than 512 MB RAM. The laptop display does not work, so it is currently hooked up to an external monitor via VGA. I installed Xubuntu side-by side with XP, on my very low capacity 20 GB HDD. I had no problems during install, and was configuring settings for appearance, window manager, etc. when my screen blacked out and then forced me to the login menu. Upon entering my correct login information, the dialog box dissappears, a white Xubuntu logo shows up, and the computer returns to the login screen with no error message. I have no experience in Xubuntu, but have about a year's worth in Ubuntu, both on 9.10, and 10.04.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Friend-Atish
June 25th, 2010, 09:11 PM
Hi,

Have you changed the display resolution during, configuring the xubuntu ?

p22dude
June 25th, 2010, 10:03 PM
No, I believe it defaulted to something like 1680 x 1050. It's on a roughly 20" widescreen flat panel monitor. I attempted to lower the resolution on the Live CD (before install) to 1280 x 1024, and it basically crashed, the screen went black etc. I had to force the PC to shut down, even though I know my monitor supports this resolution.

linux-hack
June 25th, 2010, 11:21 PM
just try reconfiguring the xserver-xorg and may be even KDE or I don't rely know witch desktop environment is on the Xubuntu.

p22dude
June 25th, 2010, 11:28 PM
just try reconfiguring the xserver-xorg and may be even KDE or I don't rely know witch desktop environment is on the Xubuntu.

Xubuntu uses the xfce desktop environment. Does that help?

linux-hack
June 26th, 2010, 11:16 AM
Actually you have the same commands .. you just do :

sudo gpkg-reconfigure xfce
sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

p22dude
June 26th, 2010, 04:10 PM
Actually you have the same commands .. you just do :

sudo gpkg-reconfigure xfce