PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Black screen when installing MythBuntu 10.04

punkhunter
June 24th, 2010, 04:59 PM
Hey All,

I am new to MythTV and kind of a noob with Linux/Unix. I know my way around with some basic commands...

Anyway, I am trying to revive an old gaming machine (about 5 years old) to make a HTPC. When I try to install MythBuntu 10.04 I see the splash screen and then the screen goes black and does nothing else. I've done a little research and found I can hit F-6 to get to a menu where I have selections like "Try MythBuntu without installing", "Install MythBuntu", "Check memory", " Check CD for errors", etc. I tried hitting F-6 again to bring up the submenu where you can select "nomodeset" (I believe that's what it's called...going off of memory), among some other selections. Escaping this submenu I see a command line. Doing some research, people are saying to remove the "quiet splash --" and replace with i915.modeset=0 or i915.modeset=1 or radeon.modeset=1, etc. I have been trying this because I believe my issue is a video driver, but nothing has worked.

Next I tried to download the 10-6 ATI Linux driver and the latest xOrg ATI Linux driver, but those either didn't work or I am not doing something right. I was selecting the "update driver" option after hitting F-6 at bootup. Then when I select "Install MythBuntu" it asks me to install a driver CD, but doing that for either driver didn't seem to help. Still lands at a blank screen.

After I land at the blank screen, I can hit control-alt-F-1 and I am taken to a command prompt. I have mounted the hard drive (sudo mount /dev/sda1 /mnt) but it still has the Windows XP install there, so I pretty certain that the install did not work and I am just in a Linux shell or something like that.

I am about to download the previous release of MythBuntu, but I don't want to do that.....I would like the latest and greatest.

My PC specs are:
P4 3.0C
2 GB RAM