PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] If the current fglrx driver is not working then why is exist in jockey?

aviramof
June 16th, 2010, 08:05 PM
I was just wandering since the current fglrx driver that jockey show it i mean the current version doesn't even support high kernels let alone xorg 1.8 so why does jockey recognize it in Maverick?

Thanks in advance.

jfernyhough
June 16th, 2010, 09:50 PM
It's in alpha. It's broken. What do you expect?

ranch hand
June 16th, 2010, 10:25 PM
It's in alpha. It's broken. What do you expect?
What?!!? This looks bad for Ubuntu to people just coming in. Oh the Gods we can't have this.

I figured I better get that out of the way now. Sooner or later some one is going to have a rant on here like that.

You did, however, leave out that it is all part of the FUN.

jfernyhough
June 16th, 2010, 10:32 PM
New people just coming in to an early Alpha release?

I started playing with alphas back with Edgy. I got burnt, I held on for the RCs. I learnt some more, and started earlier with the following releases (Feisty at Herd 4 IIRC), until I had Intrepid on as my main OS from Alpha 2 and Jaunty from the toolchain upload.

Yes, a non-working system doesn't look great. But you don't usually install this stuff unless you know what you are doing - look at Arch for example. A great, well-regarded distro but you wouldn't use it unless you know your way around in a substantial level of detail.

ranch hand
June 16th, 2010, 10:39 PM
Yup, but we have had a thread ranting about how the Alpha made Ubuntu look bad the last 2 cycles from people that claimed that they were not warned enough.

I, personally, do not understand haow illiterate people can find the Alpha releases. You would think it would be tough. If they actually can read maybe they should try it out on the download pages, the first screen of the installer and the heading of this forum.

aviramof
June 17th, 2010, 04:42 AM