PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] DRDY & CRCY Errors



Sutur
June 16th, 2010, 04:10 AM
Hi, for months now I've been getting some very strange hard disk errors.

Sometimes when I boot my computer the screen is flooded with them and data is missing when it finally boots.

Other times I may only get 2, or no errors, and the data is all there and completely intact!

I don't know if this is hardware error or just a bug since the data is elusive and unpredictable.

This is really frustrating because it's pot luck as to whether I can use my computer when I turn it on.

Here is an example of these errors:



dmesg
[ 15.184692] ata1.01: exception Emask 0x10 SAct 0x0 SErr 0x400100 action 0x0
[ 15.184751] ata1.01: SError: { UnrecovData Handshk }
[ 15.184806] ata1.01: cmd ca/00:08:bf:00:00/00:00:00:00:00/f0 tag 0 dma 4096 out
[ 15.184807] res 51/84:01:bf:00:00/00:00:00:00:00/f0 Emask 0x30 (host bus error)
[ 15.184910] ata1.01: status: { DRDY ERR }
[ 15.184956] ata1.01: error: { ICRC ABRT }
[ 15.185007] ata1.00: hard resetting link
[ 15.504317] ata1.01: hard resetting link
[ 15.980179] ata1.00: SATA link up 3.0 Gbps (SStatus 123 SControl 300)
[ 15.980193] ata1.01: SATA link up 3.0 Gbps (SStatus 123 SControl 300)
[ 16.012287] ata1.00: configured for UDMA/133
[ 16.025166] ata1.01: configured for UDMA/133
[ 16.025173] ata1: EH complete
[ 16.206818] REISERFS (device sdb1): replayed 29 transactions in 2 seconds
[ 16.226245] alloc irq_desc for 22 on node -1
[ 16.226247] alloc kstat_irqs on node -1
[ 16.226252] HDA Intel 0000:00:1b.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 22 (level, low) -> IRQ 22
[ 16.226274] HDA Intel 0000:00:1b.0: setting latency timer to 64
[ 16.277210] REISERFS (device sdb1): Using r5 hash to sort names
[ 16.812055] hda_codec: Unknown model for AD1988, trying auto-probe from BIOS...
[ 16.812110] input: HDA Digital PCBeep as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/input/input5
[ 16.891983] sky2 eth0: enabling interface
[ 16.892120] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
[ 16.910872] sky2 eth1: enabling interface
[ 16.911003] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth1: link is not ready
[ 18.266382] ata1.01: exception Emask 0x10 SAct 0x0 SErr 0x400100 action 0x0
[ 18.266441] ata1.01: SError: { UnrecovData Handshk }
[ 18.266496] ata1.01: cmd ca/00:08:0f:9c:00/00:00:00:00:00/f0 tag 0 dma 4096 out
[ 18.266497] res 51/84:01:0f:9c:00/00:00:00:00:00/f0 Emask 0x30 (host bus error)
[ 18.266600] ata1.01: status: { DRDY ERR }
[ 18.266646] ata1.01: error: { ICRC ABRT }
[ 18.266696] ata1.00: hard resetting link
[ 18.583104] ata1.01: hard resetting link
[ 19.058966] ata1.00: SATA link up 3.0 Gbps (SStatus 123 SControl 300)
[ 19.058980] ata1.01: SATA link up 3.0 Gbps (SStatus 123 SControl 300)
[ 19.091078] ata1.00: configured for UDMA/133
[ 19.099192] ata1.01: configured for UDMA/133
[ 19.099199] ata1: EH complete
[ 19.896124] sky2 eth1: Link is up at 100 Mbps, full duplex, flow control both
[ 19.896262] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth1: link becomes ready
[ 22.400918] ata1.01: exception Emask 0x10 SAct 0x0 SErr 0x400100 action 0x0
[ 22.401009] ata1.01: SError: { UnrecovData Handshk }
[ 22.401073] ata1.01: cmd ca/00:08:bf:00:00/00:00:00:00:00/f0 tag 0 dma 4096 out
[ 22.401074] res 51/84:01:bf:00:00/00:00:00:00:00/f0 Emask 0x30 (host bus error)
[ 22.401233] ata1.01: status: { DRDY ERR }
[ 22.401292] ata1.01: error: { ICRC ABRT }
[ 22.401356] ata1.00: hard resetting link
[ 22.717233] ata1.01: hard resetting link
[ 23.193095] ata1.00: SATA link up 3.0 Gbps (SStatus 123 SControl 300)
[ 23.193110] ata1.01: SATA link up 3.0 Gbps (SStatus 123 SControl 300)
[ 23.229677] ata1.00: configured for UDMA/133
[ 23.249955] ata1.01: configured for UDMA/133
[ 23.249963] ata1: EH complete
[ 30.810029] eth1: no IPv6 routers present

Sutur
June 17th, 2010, 12:40 AM
C'mon guys 51 views no answers? I know it's a new post but this has been going on for months now :(

Sutur
June 18th, 2010, 06:21 AM
Sorry for bump, need to resolve this.

Sutur
June 20th, 2010, 12:10 PM
bump

penguinfan
June 27th, 2010, 09:08 PM
I had the same problem. Initially i just pressed escape to see the errors and Ctrl + Alt + del to get to the logon screen. But i had problems with mounting cd/dvd and external disks.

Eventually i just did a check and repair on the ofending disk with gparted and that solved my issue. Obviously i wasnt to worried about losing data on the disk.
Hope it helps :)

Sutur
July 4th, 2010, 10:31 AM
Using a different kernel seems to have done the trick for the time being. I will update this thread in a month or two, if it doesn't happen then I'll mark it solved.

Sutur
July 6th, 2010, 10:39 AM
Spoke too soon. I'm still having errors is there no-one that knows what these errors mean. I've used ubuntu gapless for four years but I'm giving serious consideration to wiping and just using Windows.

PLEASE HELP

pete78
October 30th, 2010, 10:43 PM
Hi, I have the same problem since many month. When it happened the first time, I could "solve" it by using an old IDE hard disk. The problem occurs only with the SATA hard disk. It is a WD5000AAKS with SATA2.
Some weeks ago, I again switched to the SATA disk and hoped, that the bug in Ubuntu (if there is one) was fixed in the meantime. I also replaced the SATA disk by a new one of the same type, but the problem persists.
Is it possible, that the problems is located on the main board? I could not exchange it for test purpose. It is a Intel motherboard DP35DPM.
Thanks for help.

The log is the following (multiple times, sometimes ever minute):

Oct 30 22:22:35 pete-desktop kernel: [ 573.732039] sr 0:0:0:0: CDB: Test Unit Ready: 00 00 00 00 00 00
Oct 30 22:22:35 pete-desktop kernel: [ 573.732064] ata1.00: hard resetting link
Oct 30 22:22:36 pete-desktop kernel: [ 574.052011] ata1.01: hard resetting link
Oct 30 22:22:36 pete-desktop kernel: [ 574.528055] ata1.00: SATA link up 1.5 Gbps (SStatus 113 SControl 300)
Oct 30 22:22:36 pete-desktop kernel: [ 574.528068] ata1.01: SATA link down (SStatus 0 SControl 300)
Oct 30 22:22:36 pete-desktop kernel: [ 574.584145] ata1.00: configured for UDMA/100
Oct 30 22:22:36 pete-desktop kernel: [ 574.632023] ata1: EH complete

Sutur
October 31st, 2010, 01:58 AM
Could be the Motherboard.

I'm using an Asus p6t deluxe v2, i7 920 stock clock.