PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] How to dowload additional Keyboard Layouts in Ubuntu 10.04

__B__
June 14th, 2010, 08:51 PM
I installed Ubuntu 10.04 in my machine.

I have a Brazilian Keyboard that I need to use in this machine for some testing, but none of Brazilian Layouts that came with Ubuntu Lucid Lynx release are 100% compatible (I'm missing question marks and "/").

How do I download additional keyboard layouts? Is it possible? My keyboard model is "HP KU-0316" (Brazilian Version).

If it's not possible to download this keyboard layout, can I at least try to use an utility to "map" my failing keys?

I'm new to Linux, but can learn new things.

Thanks!

__B__
June 15th, 2010, 12:52 PM
Anyone? My Ubuntu default language is set to English, and the keyboard is Brazilian. Does it matter?

yossell
June 15th, 2010, 01:46 PM
the command xmodmap might be what you're looking for: that allows you to remap keys on the keyboard, and I believe there are ways of making the changes permanent. It's not completely straightforward - but htere are some links that might help:

http://www.xfree86.org/4.2.0/xmodmap.1.html
http://cweiske.de/howto/xmodmap/allinone.html

__B__
June 15th, 2010, 02:54 PM
Thanks!

I tried the xev utility to detect my keyboard, and when I press my question mark key, it isn't detected. I'm using this Ubuntu installation in a VM in VirtualBox. Maybe it's a virtualbox problem?

__B__
June 16th, 2010, 05:59 PM
I've tried showkey -k too and still no luck (no key is identified)... anyone?

yossell
June 16th, 2010, 06:06 PM
sorry - not sure what you're trying to do at this stage.