PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help with sound driver.

Jadiction
June 14th, 2010, 08:22 PM
Now, i probably sound like a noob here, xD. But i am new to Ubuntu and i have no sound. It's my friends TOSHIBA laptop. I couldn't find any audio drivers for it on the site, so please help. Thanks.

Sylos
June 14th, 2010, 08:26 PM
This could be a lot of different problems with many causes (most of which I dont understand).

Have you made sure the volume control is up (a common issue with it being muted by default).

Have you tested it through the preferences-sound menu?

Jadiction
June 14th, 2010, 08:30 PM
Yes, i have. And i even plugged it into headphones and speakers that work to see if was the built in speakers. Usually, i would think Ubuntu updates would take care of the audio driver.

Sylos
June 14th, 2010, 08:34 PM
Normally it would I think.
Try

sudo alsa force-reload

tell me what you get.

Jadiction
June 14th, 2010, 08:40 PM
Didn't work. =/ It said "Output information may be incomplete and unloading ALSA sound driver modules: (none loaded)."

Sylos
June 14th, 2010, 08:43 PM
Sounds like you need some form of sound drivers loaded.

Which Ubuntu version are you on?

I know there are a lot of options for sound. I use alsa so you could just try and install alsa.

Jadiction
June 14th, 2010, 08:48 PM
Just plain Ubuntu. And can you give me a download link? I'll try it out. Anything to fix this sound.

Sylos
June 14th, 2010, 08:55 PM
By version I meant release eg. 10.04 Lucid Lynx (the latest one). I ask because it may mean it uses a different sound set up.

That being said if you are willing to run with alsa regardless of what your system does by default (cant see any reason why it should matter but then Im no expert) then just type the following at the terminal:

sudo apt-get install alsa

That should install it once you have entered your password and hopefully all will be well.

Let me know how it goes.

Jadiction
June 14th, 2010, 09:04 PM