PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] DEFAULT CATCH! ... ? How do you install?

quinnteq
June 14th, 2010, 05:18 AM
I am attempting to install ubuntu 9.04 onto a NewWorld G3 iMac.
Specs are as follows:
400MHz PowerPC processor
128 mb of RAM
13 GB HDD
cd/DVD drive (slot loading)

The original OS is not existent as when i purchased it the original HDD died and I'm using a new one. When booting using hte live CD i get to the black terminal screen where it askes me for instructions, i press enter to boot into the live CD and then i get to an open firmware prompt which says

done
copying OF device tree ...
Can't allocate initial device-tree chunk

DEFAULT CATCH!, code=700 at %SRR0: 01806bac &SRR1: 00023030

Then i get a prompt:
ok
0 >

Now I am a PC pro, a intermediate linux guy and a Mac newbie (first mac i picked up ever).
I want to make it run as this is just a side project for me. How do i get ubuntu to install onto this box? Am I doing something wrong? Or am I missing something?

3rdalbum
June 14th, 2010, 05:50 AM
I don't know what the error is; but it may be an incorrectly burned disc. Sounds like a dumb question, but you ARE using the PowerPC edition and not the i386 edition? That era of Macintosh used the PowerPC processor and requires its own special edition of Ubuntu.

linuxopjemac
June 14th, 2010, 07:52 AM
some reading before you go on:
http://mac.linux.be/content/apple-powerpc-wiki

quinnteq
June 14th, 2010, 08:30 PM
Yes, i am using the PPC version of Ubuntu. ( was clever enough to get that far :wink:) I get the ubuntu/yaboot prompt to boot up the live cd when i hold down the C key on the boot chime. Once i type live, or anything at all, then press enter, I get the open firmware prompt.

This may sound silly, but can you use any HDD in a Mac? Maybe the HDD in it is dead? Not sure, i wouldn't know how to tell within just open firmware if its detected or not.