PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How do you re-download Leopard after downloading Ubuntu?

EvCrock
June 9th, 2010, 09:18 PM
Alright, let me explain my situation. I have a Macbook from about three years ago (a black one, if that helps) and I wiped my entire hard drive downloading Ubuntu to the last ten gigs of the hard drive.

:-(

BUT!!! I love Ubuntu, but miss all of my Mac stuff, specifically being able to run Netflix and my built-in iSight camera. So, I'm wanting to download Leopard to my hard drive and be able to switch between Ubuntu and Mac OSX at will. Can anyone either send me in the right direction or give me EXTREMELY DETAILED directions? I am an absolute beginner, as indicated by my losing all of my info. These forums are great!!

Frobber
June 9th, 2010, 10:08 PM
This procedure is for a PPC. Yours is most likely is an Intel, some of the info may not be exactly verbatim (one I can recall is for PPC we use yaboot and Intel uses another boot screen).

The concept is there and may work for you.

How to share Linux and OSX Operating Systems on an IMac PPC

This procedure contains information useful for installing Linux and OSX operating systems on an Imac PPC. The procedure is not all inclusive, it provides concepts and ideas that resulted from installing the two operating systems many times. Much of this information was provided by others on the Internet. Thanks to those whom have taken time and provided the information.
Concept
- partition the Macintosh HD with 3 or more partitions.
- make some partitions non-journaled.
- install the operating systems.
- copy (NOT move) the entire OSX 'home folder' to one of the non journaled HFS+ partitions.
- set the home directory for the user to the new partitions home.
- reboot to the Linux side.
- change the directory location of /Downloads, /Documents, /Music, /Video ... to the location of the OSX home (easy with ubuntutweak).