PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help needed with wireless/wired network connection

Festy
June 9th, 2010, 04:27 PM
Hi all,
please feel my pain. I am new to Ubuntu. I have installed Ubuntu on a Compaq nx8420 laptop. The last few days, as I've tried to resolve this issue, are a blur but here is the main problem.

My primary goal is to stream audio from the PC (Vista) to the laptop (Ubuntu 9.10) wirelessly. I am unable to access shared files on the PC. It is connected to a router which is also wireless. When I try to connect to the PC from Ubuntu, I go to Place -> Network -> and then click on Windows Network when I receive the message "Unable to mount location: Failed to retrieve share list from server". My research has shown that this is a common problem but all the fixes I've tried haven't worked. I believe I have Samba installed and Smb4k which, from what I understand, are needed.

Here are some anomalies which may help diagnose my problem. I was able to get this working with a wired connection to the laptop yesterday (my primary goal is to get this running wireless). From all of the changes I've made, and programs installed, I can't recall exactly which fix it was that had it working. Nonetheless, it's not working today - wired or wireless.

However, on the PC I'm currently using a wireless USB for internet connection which the laptop is also gaining access from! So, there is a connection between the two somehow. Can anyone provide any help, please? It would be greatly appreciated.

With thanks,
Festy

gordintoronto
June 9th, 2010, 05:52 PM
Have you made sure both computers are part of the same Workgroup?

I use the same username and password on two computers, and I have never had any problem accessing shared folders.

Festy
June 10th, 2010, 01:04 AM