PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Help Me,to avoid embarrassment, new install.



ssj6akshat
June 2nd, 2010, 12:45 PM
Actually my uncle agreed to install Ubuntu on his laptop because windows was giving problems His laptop is compaq 6720s.I will be able to meet him for 2 or 3 days only.

Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo Processor T5470 1.60GHz , 2MB L2 cache, 800MHz FSB
Hard Drive: 120GB SATA (5400RPM), HP DriveGuard
Screen: 15.4" WXGA BrightView Widescreen (1280 x 800)
Graphics: Intel Graphics Media Accelerator X3100
RAM: 1 x 1024MB DDR2
Optical Drive: 8x DVD+/-RW SuperMulti with Lightscribe
Battery: 6-cell lithium-ion (47 Watt/hour)
Wireless: Intel Wireless LAN 802,11a/b/g MOW2, mini-PCI card, Bluetooth
Ports: 3 USB 2.0 ports, VGA, stereo microphone in, stereo headphone/line out, power connector, RJ-11/modem, RJ-45/Ethernet,
Slots: ExpressCard/54 slot, Secure Digital (SD) slot
Dimensions: 1.27 in (at front) x 14.1 in x 10.5 in / 32.3 mm (at front) x 358 mm x 266.8 mm
Weight: 2.5Kgs (5.5 lbs)

How much of hardware will work with 10.04 LTS?How much hardware will require setting stuff up? Help Me!

philinux
June 2nd, 2010, 12:49 PM
Moved to ABT forum.

cchhrriiss121212
June 2nd, 2010, 12:55 PM
Looks like an easy install to me, judging by my installs on a similar spec Dell. Just give it a good test with the live cd first, and check out things like wireless + hibernate once installed.

ssj6akshat
June 2nd, 2010, 02:10 PM
Looks like an easy install to me, judging by my installs on a similar spec Dell. Just give it a good test with the live cd first, and check out things like wireless + hibernate once installed.

The real problem is that he lives in another city(where I am going) and I don't want to spend my time searching for HOWTOs.

mrgs
June 2nd, 2010, 02:45 PM
Just bring 10.04 and 9.10 in case of emergency and remember to install with a cable, then chances are good that you will get it right without any help.

ssj6akshat
June 11th, 2010, 10:15 AM
Ok I managed to install it and it went smoothly.the only issue were broadcom drivers which were solved with a wired connection.

3rdalbum
June 11th, 2010, 11:08 AM
Ok I managed to install it and it went smoothly.the only issue were broadcom drivers which were solved with a wired connection.

So... you got the model wrong then? Your description said Intel wireless.

ssj6akshat
June 14th, 2010, 09:09 AM
So... you got the model wrong then? Your description said Intel wireless.

It did use the Intel card first but only detected our neighbor's unencrypted connection and not ours,so I had to install Broadcom drivers.