PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Tar restore issue

BobJam
June 1st, 2010, 05:00 PM
I restored my system using the tar method (from a backup.tar.gz.bz2 file I had made for just such "emergencies") detailed in a thread started by user "Heliode" back in May of 2005 ( http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=35087 . . . some 107 pages and 1066 posts long, the last post being just 4 days ago). Granted, the beginning of that thread is OLD, but the method worked just fine. (The reason I did the restore operation is not really pertinent to my problem . . . let's just say I'm a noob to ubuntu and messed up my desktop).

It worked just fine EXCEPT, and here is my problem, for the way it restored the mount of my home partition. I think the issue is the mount, but am not sure . . . and as I detail the problem, you'll see that I really don't have my arms around all this mount stuff and the tar backup/restore method.

I had installed ubuntu originally with a seperate partition for my /home directory. Previously, I had always seen desktop boot activity (and app opening activity) on my home partition . . . using gkrellm for monitoring my /home partition, which happens to be sda6. Now grekellm shows absolutely NO activity on sda6, with all the activity shown on / (sda1 . . . the top panel on image below . . . I have it split into write/read operations).

http://i510.photobucket.com/albums/s346/rbjamie/Ubuntu/Tarrestoreissue.png

http://tinypic.com/a/239mq/4http://tinypic.com/a/239mq/4http://tinypic.com/a/239mq/4This is not a deal breaker . . . I mean, everything still works . . . but it's particularly bothersome since I purposely want my /home mounted on that seperate partition to be the one that my apps draw my settings from.

Solutions I tried: