PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing ubuntu to an external USB hard drive

pedrovay2003
May 28th, 2010, 04:16 AM
Hey, I'm sorry if this has already been posted -- I'm EXTREMELY new to ubuntu and this website.

I just bought a 500gb internal laptop hard drive and put it in an external casing. I'd like to install ubuntu to it and create 2 partitions -- One very small one, only what the OS needs, and then another huge one for all my files.

I'd like to keep the huge partition in FAT32 format so I can connect it to my PS3, which I use as a media center. I hear that ubuntu doesn't play nicely with FAT32, but as long as I can keep the big partition FAT32, I don't mind what the smaller one is.

Is it possible to do this? Can I have ubuntu on my now-external drive and have the larger partition FAT32? Also, will the OS run at a decent speed, and will my settings be saved when I exit (like the wallpaper and saved wireless networks, stuff like that)? Again, thanks for bearing with me -- I really don't have much of a clue as to what I'm doing. :P

lmarmisa
May 28th, 2010, 06:37 AM
No problem. You can define a great FAT32 partition (I do not know the size limitations of the FAT32 system) and two partitions for Ubuntu: one for the root directory (file system: ext4 or ext3; 15 Gbytes will be a good size) and a second partition for swap (my recommendation is to define the same size for swap than your RAM memory).

You have to select the manual partition option during the installation if you wish to define the sizes for the different partitions.

An important installation detail: install the grub loader in the MBR of the extermal drive, not in /dev/sda!!!!. I believe that this is selected in the last menu of the Ubuntu installation (7/7), in Advanced Options. This is very important!!!!.

pedrovay2003
May 28th, 2010, 10:27 AM