PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How is 'xorg.conf' or 'XF86Config' configured? [Touchpad problem]

a-guy-in-japan
May 26th, 2010, 01:33 AM
This is my 1st time trying Linux--I am a beginner, however I did search the forums for an answer but most of what I've found so far is a bit over my head.
I am converting over from Windows and am fairly good at resolving hardware & software conflicts in it (I am good with navigating menus but not experienced in using command line interfaces, such as 'Terminal').
That being said, I realize Linux is not Windows and am here to learn, so I can use Ubuntu (or some other version of Linux) myself and to help others after I've gained experience. I hope to get enough experience to help everyone I know to eventually use some version of Linux--it is free after all! :P

Problem background:
Installed Lucid Lynx on a 5 year old Panasonic laptop and all hardware is recognized, however the touchpad is very slow regardless of the System/Preferences/Mouse Preferences settings (Pointer speed's Acceleration and Sensitivity are both set to maximum).
I found a forum post stating "installing GSynaptic should fix the touchpad's low sensitivity problem" so I went to Applications/Ubuntu Software Center and did a search for 'gsynaptic.' The 1st result returned is "Touchpad" so I installed it.

When I run Touchpad (from System/Prefences/), this message is displayed:
"GSynaptics couldn't initialize. You have to set 'SHMConfig' 'true' in xorg.conf ot XF86Config to use GSynaptics"

Please tell me the procedure for properly editing the above mentioned file(s) so I can use the GSynaptic Touchpad application.

Thank you for taking the time to read this post!

mikewhatever
May 26th, 2010, 05:41 PM