PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Where is grub?



wordmaster
May 24th, 2010, 11:46 PM
I tried following some instructions to modify grub and it included opening grub under etc/default, but grub is not there. I am in 10.04. Where would it be?

-humanaut-
May 24th, 2010, 11:47 PM
I think what your looking for is /boot/grub

or
/etc/default/grub
/etc/grub.d <--- Probably this one.

Superkoop
May 24th, 2010, 11:53 PM
Ubuntu 10.04 uses GRUB 2, So you are either looking for
/etc/grub.d or
/etc/default/grub

https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Grub2

Considering I don't know what you are trying to do, I can't help much more than this.

wordmaster
May 24th, 2010, 11:53 PM
Here are the instructions. I want to be sure I get the right grub:

gksudo gedit /etc/default/grub

Look for this line and add:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="ipv6.disable=1 quiet splash"

Save and close your file then run:

sudo update-grub2

Reboot and see if you notice a difference.

Superkoop
May 24th, 2010, 11:57 PM
Here are the instructions. I want to be sure I get the right grub:

gksudo gedit /etc/default/grub

Look for this line and add:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="ipv6.disable=1 quiet splash"

Save and close your file then run:

sudo update-grub2

Reboot and see if you notice a difference.


Yes you are in the correct location. =] Just run gksudo gedit /etc/default/grub in the command line, and continue with the instructions.

-humanaut-
May 24th, 2010, 11:59 PM
/etc/default/grub would be correct

ipv6.disable=1

is all you'd need to add the run update-grub from a terminal

wordmaster
May 25th, 2010, 01:09 AM
However, there is no grub in etc/default. There are other grubs, but which one do I use? I am trying to turn off ipv6 in the hope that it will speed up my internet. Currently it takes several minutes for a web site to open.

SPARTAN-118
May 25th, 2010, 01:13 AM
Can you please tell us the output of
$ ls so we know what you're talking about? In my /etc/default there is only one "grub" file.

wordmaster
May 25th, 2010, 01:36 AM
Here is the result:

$ ls
$: command not found

In my /etc/default there is "no" grub at all. There are grubs in other locations

kansasnoob
May 25th, 2010, 01:41 AM
However, there is no grub in etc/default. There are other grubs, but which one do I use? I am trying to turn off ipv6 in the hope that it will speed up my internet. Currently it takes several minutes for a web site to open.

What in the world are you talking about?

Please provide a link to where you found this brilliant idea.

MBG1987
May 25th, 2010, 01:42 AM
type in terminal:


sudo chmod 770 /boot/grub/grub.cfg
sudo gedit /boot/grub/grub.cfg

now you can mass up with grub, be careful!

wordmaster
May 25th, 2010, 01:48 AM
In this thread:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=9344871#post9344871

I found this help address:

http://wojox.homelinux.org/?p=46

So the grub in boot is the one I need to change to kill the ipv6?

wordmaster
May 25th, 2010, 01:49 AM
Also, here is the results of ls in etc/default

p@p-desktop:/etc/default$ ls
acpid clamsmtp kernel-helper-rc powernowd syslogd
acpi-support console-setup kerneloops pulseaudio tmpfs
alsa cron klogd randomsound ufw
apmd cups ld10k1 rcS useradd
apport dbus locale rsync wicd
avahi-daemon devpts ntpdate rsyslog winbind
bootlogd halt nvidia-kernel saned yate
brltty irqbalance pmi speech-dispatcher

wordmaster
May 25th, 2010, 01:53 AM
hmmm, in /boot/grub/ there is no grub.cfg

Miljet
May 25th, 2010, 03:05 AM
In /boot/grub do you find a file called menu.lst? If so, you are running the old legacy grub and you would make your changes to the menu.lst file.

SPARTAN-118
May 25th, 2010, 09:07 PM
I don't recall ever hearing you can edit GRUB to speed up your Internet. I believe that is something you will have to take up with your Internet Service Provider (i.e. Bell, Rogers, etc.).

Does your Internet work okay (i.e., not slow) in Windows?

wordmaster
May 26th, 2010, 10:31 PM
Yes, it is not an internet problem. It works fine in windoze and it worked fine in ubuntu untill the second to last upgrade.

wordmaster
May 26th, 2010, 10:39 PM
Found menu.lst, but there is no line similar to what I need to change. Apparently this is not the correct file either.

Miljet
May 27th, 2010, 02:09 AM
Yep, that is the correct file. I don't know which line to edit, but now that they know that you have legacy GRUB, I'm sure that someone will come along to help further.