PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Completly LOST!!

kiceman699
May 24th, 2010, 08:26 PM
Ok so I am new to all of this And Am trying to install on a Fresh HD in a Dell Inspiron notebook and am having nothing but problems!

If I try to install off the CD I burned from the site it is for version 10.4 and I start the computer with the CD in the drive set to load from CD and it loads to a point that says INVALID OPERATION SYSTEM!..
And from that point nothing!
I have another computer that I am using right now to get the info I want this laptop to be Ubuntu alone Operation system.
The only thing on the Drvie right now is A Partition.

Is there a link I can go to that will give me a Step by step! or for that mater can someone tell me what the problem is?

I just can figer it out and am lost!

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE!!

roger_1960
May 24th, 2010, 08:30 PM
Hi

You need to use the "install using entire disk" (or similar) option. It will not work using WUBI.

theozzlives
May 24th, 2010, 08:35 PM
sounds like a bad burn, or .ISO

MrOneEyedBoh
May 24th, 2010, 08:36 PM
Yep from what all I've gathered researching this all day long, it seems that it should be an easy install. try to reburn the image.

SlidingHorn
May 24th, 2010, 08:41 PM
I don't know whether or not the .iso is your problem, but if you're going to go that route, make sure you check the md5 and burn at a low speed (4x would be ideal)

bodhi.zazen
May 24th, 2010, 08:43 PM
Ok so I am new to all of this And Am trying to install on a Fresh HD in a Dell Inspiron notebook and am having nothing but problems!

If I try to install off the CD I burned from the site it is for version 10.4 and I start the computer with the CD in the drive set to load from CD and it loads to a point that says INVALID OPERATION SYSTEM!..
I have another computer that I am using right now to get the info I want this laptop to be Ubuntu alone Operation system.