PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Question on website font size/style



MrOneEyedBoh
May 24th, 2010, 08:05 PM
I was wondering if there were any other ways that I can change the font within the website itself. I also do a lot of forum browsing and this is where I can notice it most. I know about the settings under the preferences ( thats just font and size for the internet browser's header etc. ) I also know about the zoom ( Ctrl- + ) but I'm looking to make the font within the browser look normal. To me it looks all squished and off. Here are a few screenshots, maybe a resolution issue?

mbzn
May 24th, 2010, 08:10 PM
All text in the images seems fine to me... How does the text in gedit look on your screen?

MrOneEyedBoh
May 24th, 2010, 08:11 PM
So then its supposed to look squished? seems like the font is small and bold when it shouldnt be. I know Im comparing it to windows, but to me that looks normal, and what Im used to seeing...

Whats that gedit your speaking of?

mbzn
May 24th, 2010, 08:17 PM
normal text in a text editor...

Applications>Accessories>gedit
Type some things to see if it also look squished.

MrOneEyedBoh
May 24th, 2010, 08:21 PM
No thats looks fine and so does this when I type it. Along with normal HTML websites that just have words. But the thread titles and hotmail is off to me... I duno what it is. Is there any settings I can mess with? Like in windows they have that resolution settings under the control panel.

Thanks for the hastily replys.

mbzn
May 24th, 2010, 08:25 PM
I noticed that all the screenshots are on forums. The bold ones are just unread. Is that the problem?

MrOneEyedBoh
May 24th, 2010, 08:26 PM
No its kinda weird. Its like ahhh.. Let me boot into windows and get some shots. Thanks bro. I'll be back in a few minutes.

MrOneEyedBoh
May 24th, 2010, 08:34 PM
Alright here are some windows screenshots. You might or might not be able to tell the difference. If not I'll take a fullscreen shot or Ubuntu and Windows.

mbzn
May 24th, 2010, 08:49 PM
I can see that the font size in windows seems a little smaller when bold.

The font sizes for Firefox can be changed by:

In the Address bar type "about:config"
Read the warning and say "I'll be careful, I promise"

The lines you want to change is about 50% down and start with font.size
(I can't tell you specifically which ones to change but this is where you need to fiddle around)

MrOneEyedBoh
May 24th, 2010, 08:52 PM
I use chrome as its faster for me... I tired the firefox with the tweaks and still didnt do much for me. But I appreciate it. Its weird that its in both Chrome and Firefox.

MrOneEyedBoh
May 25th, 2010, 02:31 AM
Just going to bump this up and maybe someone else can chime in...

romeug
May 25th, 2010, 02:46 AM
Just going to bump this up and maybe someone else can chime in...

my first inclination is screen resolution- are you using a wide screen monitor? oftentimes, a widescreen on a laptop is given a 1280x1024 designation which is actually not proportional to an actual (wide) screen (considering that a pixel is square) and would display a 'squishing' effect. a more appropriate setting is 1280x800 (8:5) or 1280x768 (5:3).
This is just a guess, and not Ubuntu specific, but interested if it clues you into a solution.

MrOneEyedBoh
May 25th, 2010, 03:00 AM
Yes it is a widescreen monitor ( desktop ) How come it wasnt bad in windows, but in Ubuntu its annoying.. I want to keep Ubuntu but Im not sure if I can take it any longer. Call it minuscule, but aesthetics are a plus for me ( in this case a negative )

Im at 1680x1050.... I tired to set it to one of the other settings to get it to balance out, but nothing it made it like super big or wacky. Im getting off here soon, so maybe tomorrow something can be figured out.

Just odd that in windows, I had no problem. But in Ubuntu I do...

MrOneEyedBoh
May 25th, 2010, 03:09 AM
Could it be a video card issue?


00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] LPC Bridge (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] SMBus (rev a1)
00:01.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:01.3 Co-processor: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] Co-Processor (rev a2)
00:01.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] OHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev a1)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev a1)
00:04.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] OHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev a1)
00:04.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev a1)
00:06.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] IDE (rev a1)
00:07.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP72XE/MCP72P/MCP78U/MCP78S High Definition Audio (rev a1)
00:08.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] PCI Bridge (rev a1)
00:09.0 SATA controller: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] AHCI Controller (rev a2)
00:0a.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation MCP77 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:10.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:12.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:13.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] PCI Bridge (rev a1)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation C77 [GeForce 8200] (rev a2)
04:00.0 Communication controller: Agere Systems Device 0630 (rev 01)
05:00.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. Device 3403


Its an old acer LCD x223w that I have laying around.

Najmudin
May 25th, 2010, 03:27 AM
This (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=7094387) may help you.

MrOneEyedBoh
May 25th, 2010, 10:16 PM
This (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=7094387) may help you.

I did a few of those fixes and hoped for the best and one of them worked. Or damn near got it close. Thanks!