PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] See wireless network, can't connect??? Please help

family_man2
May 24th, 2010, 07:52 AM
Okay, I am brand new to Ubuntu and I am trying a dual boot on toshiba laptop. I have the OS installed and updated. But I can't connect to wireless. I can SEE all the wireless systems in my neighborhood, but when I enter the key, it rejects it. I can connect with the Toshiba using the Windows XP Wifi and the exact same key.

Am I missing something obvious?

Please help.

MC_Sketch
May 24th, 2010, 07:56 AM
what type of wireless router are you trying to connect to? because i use a Cisco Linksys and it works fine, but my friend up the road has a Belkin that i just cant seem to connect to.

anewguy
May 24th, 2010, 09:49 AM
I also have to ask - is it asking for the network key, or is it asking for the keyring key for the network?

Dave ;)

family_man2
May 24th, 2010, 02:29 PM
MCSketch -
Its a 2wire dsl modem / wireless router. Don't know the model off hand.

Anewguy -
Its asking for the network key. I don't know what you mean by "keyring key."

family_man2
May 25th, 2010, 02:07 AM
Okay some more info. I can connect wirelessly with Ubuntu if I remove the security on the wireless router. But once I put on a WEP key, Ubuntu won't let me through. Since I can get through to the internet wireless without secuity, can I assume my driver is okay?

louieb
May 25th, 2010, 02:25 AM
Is it a 2 wire from ATT? Believe the default encryption is WPA / WPA personal - anyway yes it sounds like your talking to the wireless card - since you can see wireless networks - and connect unsecured too.

Have one of those "2 wire modem routers" also - not a problem - after entering the pass-phrase - connects right up.

BTW: you'll know if its asking for the key-ring password - the dialog box will let you know - and yes it would be different from your wireless network pass-phrase.

anarchywolf46
May 25th, 2010, 03:19 AM