PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] USB went screwy after Tower switch

klinster
May 23rd, 2010, 11:26 PM
I don't know if this is the right spot but here it goes:

I'm new to Ubuntu and I switched towers recently because the old tower was small and the new one is upgrade-able. The usb inputs on front and back worked fine on the old tower but on the new tower I am experiencing transfer rate drops. I've searched the forum and did the kernel update found here http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1487590

I've tried plugging in the usb/external hard drive straight to the motherboard's usbs (the back of the computer) and I still get a slow transfer rate.

Well the computer is a HP Pavillion a1240n with the only difference being two new usb readers on the front: 1 being a card reader with 1 usb
the other has 2 usb inputs and 2 sound inputs which came with the tower.

I'm running Ubuntu 10 x86

nhasian
May 23rd, 2010, 11:36 PM
just to clarify, does this mean that you took all the guts out of your old case and moved the same parts to a NEW larger case for expandibility? Or did you replace your tower with a new computer?

I switched towers recently because the old tower was small and the new one is upgrade-able.

klinster
May 23rd, 2010, 11:46 PM
I took the guts out of the old case and put them in the new case. Sorry about that..

So just to restate, It's the same computer in a different case but now it has different front usb inputs.

If I try to copy big files to my external hard drive (500mb-1g) it takes forever. It used to take 1-2 minutes tops when I had the same computer on the old case. Even plugging the external hard drive on the back of the computer causes speed drops as well.

kmsalex
May 24th, 2010, 12:25 AM